We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Market

Market
Ranked #38 of 592 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Colombian, Contemporary, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Some healthy vegetarian options. Nice atmosphere, especially outside around the fountain. Parking sometimes difficult.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lyrad5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    61
    19
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, wonderful atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Love this restaurant. So beautiful. Food is amazing. Great date restaurant but make sure you make a reservation as they are often closed for functions. Love!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tarryns495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great eatery spoilt by very poor service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We visited The Market on the 16th October 2012 following a recommendation of a friend. It was one of those cool,windy evenings that Durban has been experiencing this year. On arrival we were ushered to a table in the windiest area of the restaurant. When we eventually caught the eye of a waiter and asked to move to a more sheltered table we were met with a reluctant - okay even though they were far from full. I'll give the ambience and the restaurant's creation of mystique top marks. Now to get some service - that took a while. Our Arura Pinotage arrived and when I asked for an ice bucket as it was hardly around the 16 - 18 deg mark the guy looked at me as though I was daft - short of saying "this is red wine you know" He plonked in the ice bucket and that was the last time he touched the bottle! Self service from then on! When we asked if there were any specials he said there were fish cakes - full stop! No enhancement to order, I was tempted to ask him what was in them but felt the answer would probably have been - fish!
I opted for a starter portion of Pork Belly which was out of this world! My wife decided on the Fresh Water Norwegian Salmon which she raved about and we shared a Gorgonzola salad
I will revisit The Market when 'TAZ' our waiter is on vacation. Shame about the service which killed the evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank russell a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
189 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Still very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My 3rd visit to Market, unfortunately it was raining so we were not able to sit outside but our waiter Mark was very attentive. The wine list is great if a bit on the pricey side. I ordered the open raviolli with butternut and mushrooms but could not find the mushrooms. On quering this I was told the menu had changed and it was now buttenrut with cashew butter. Not too much of a problem as it was delicious. Lovely...and worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lazy lunch under a tree”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Trendy comfortable outdoor restaurant that serves delicious fruit juices and a killer lamb Burger! I could've spent all afternoon outhere!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AJHB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing