We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT RESTAURANT TO DINE WITH FRIENDS.”
Review of Chez Nous

Chez Nous
Ranked #27 of 610 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Chez Nous is an upmarket family restaurant that caters for everyone.
SOUTH AFRICA
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“GREAT RESTAURANT TO DINE WITH FRIENDS.”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Went with friends on a Saturday night, the restaurant was full and despite this, the service was good. Recommend that one to make a prior reservation. Plenty of paid parking very close to restaurant. Good atmosphere. My wife had Moroccan Chicken Stack and i had Beef Wellington, not served in the normal way, both were excellent.The recent up grade and revamp has made a big different.

A very pleasant evening with friends and will come again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BARRYBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    55
    16
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always nice food”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

One of the favourite place to eat. Nice to come with kids, they have room to play. Food is great.
Calamari is a best in Durban.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“what a great wedding reception venue”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We went to Ches Nous on the 10 August 2014 which was a reception dinner for a friends sons wedding. I was so impressed. They catered for 105 people. The managing of feeding so many guests at one sitting is not an easy task. I would comend the waiters and manageress on a job well done. I have been to this restaurant before and food was excellent. This ocxassion the food was superb. Starter of salmoln phyllio pastery with ago and cottage cheese was spectacular. The prawn and chicken curry was perfectly spiced. Highly recommend thus as a wedding venue. BEV Moore

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beverley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a Gem in Westville”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

What a lovely place to eat. The atmosphere is just right, the staff seem very well trained [a rarity these days] and the food - well, superb. The portions are not on the mean side either. Stopped in for a small bite to eat, so ordered the prego sandwich. It was enormous and oooohhh so good. The salmon sandwich was equally great and both were value for money. My one regret is that I reside in Johannesburg, so my visits are not going to be often enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, No rush to push you on to the next course or out of restaurant”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Atmosphere great, staff very welcoming and accomodating, especially of a group of friends who had not seen each other for 10 years or more and were so busy catching up. Never rushed.

Food was top class. Moroccan Linefish on a bed of spinach with some roast vegetables on the side or delicious filet steak in Madagascar green pepper sauce. or.. . quite a few items to choose from all looking as good as the other.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoeMeriken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Nous also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Westville, Durban
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Chez Nous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing