We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and homey, nice staff.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acorn B&B in Durban
Ranked #15 of 258 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Enjoyed several days at this nice B&B while visiting our son and his family in Durban. We were disappointed not to meet the owner, who was away for 2 weeks, but were very well looked after by Natalie in his absence. Lovely older home, built in the 1920's, attractively furnished with many South African artifacts and art, as well as being a quiet property with lush gardens and pool. Our room was a good size, with air conditioning and ceiling fan. Handy and safe (because of security) location, near to the Botanical Gardens. We would have enjoyed more variety in the breakfast menu--basically eggs and toast every morning, muffins from a mix once in a while. The king-sized bed was extremely comfortable, and laundry service was available. Our only complaint was the bathroom was not clean when we arrived--and was never cleaned while we were there. Also had to ask for fresh towels and only got them changed once during our 9-day stay--we think a hotel or B&B should automatically change them every 2 or 3 days without having to be asked. However, we realize we are comparing the amenities/standards to the B&Bs we are used to in North America, so don't mean to sound too complaining. We would recommend this B&B to others coming to the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #4, on the second floor, overlooking the back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntmamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB_12, Manager at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to do this positive review. I value all my guests input and where possible all will be evaluated and where necessary rectified. So sorry I was not here to welcome you and host you, as I was recharging my batteries after a very busy 2012. Regarding the changing of the towels - as per the notice on your dressing table regarding environmental concerns, you only had to put the towels in the shower and new towels would have been put in your room each day as per the notice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 111 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We booked 2 nights at the Acorn B'n'B due to the raving reviews on TripAdvisor. However, we can't share them to the full extent, so we felt compelled to add our impressions to the mix to get a more realistic view of the place.

The Acorn B'n'B is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac in a residential area, with restaurants at Florida Street and Musgrave Area only 10 minutes or less away by foot (Check out 'eatwise' restaurant down at Problem Khize Road, really good health food and smoothies). The location couldn't be better for exploring Durban by way of walking.

Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by Don, the proprietor of Acorn B'n'B, who advised us on a couple of sights to visit in Durban and offered us rides to nearby restaurants. All very nice and friendly.

On our way to the room we noticed a pile of dirty laundry in the common area as well as a very strong Patchouli smell. The laundry was excused with it being Sunday and the cleaners not being around. Fair enough. The common area (breakfast terrace and space in front of Don's office) was quite cluttered and literally every free space has been filled with something - anything - that could be described as 'African Curio'.

The room itself (No. 6) was quite spacious with a fairly big en-suite bathroom, with no soap provided though. Further, we didn't get any laundry bag and the bath robes that were mentioned in previous reviews were missing as well. A slightly dusty decanter of sherry and two a bit more dusty glasses were provided. In retrospect we thought that the room was only negligently prepared for our stay - or in other words: not really ready for guests to move in.

Although the first impression of the room was clean and airy, some of the furniture was clearly worn and had stains. The bed however was excellent with fresh linen. The towels were not changed during our 2-nights stay, and even if we had refused to make use of a respective offer (due to environmental concerns), one would expect it in a B'n'B that charges 850R a night per room.

The night was on both mornings effectively over at 6:30 am due to the noise level in the house (breakfast service commences).

When we came out for breakfast, Don asked us straight away if one of the other guests could use our bathroom. Her room was upstairs, so apparently she couldn't be bothered to walk a flight of stairs. We were too flabbergasted to refuse, but felt that the question itself was inappropriate. Again, we're not talking about a Youth Hostel for 200R a night, but a 3-star-rated B'n'B.

There's only one table for breakfast, so expect to share it with the other guests. It's not even guaranteed that you can sit next to the person you're travelling with. Your host (and his dog) sits on the table with you during breakfast (having breakfast himself) and entertains you - almost if you want it or not. The breakfast itself is average, containing the usual suspects of cereal, juice, cold toast, coffee and eggs. Nothing I would write home about, but sufficient.

The pile of dirty laundry of the previous evening had migrated to Don's office, still in plain view for all the guests (despite the maids being around).

When we came back around 10pm that night, we found the gate to the street open, which seemed odd given all the security measures the place has otherwise.

The next morning the helpers were sorting the laundry in the common area. Dirty laundry still in Don's office. All in front of the eyes of the guests having breakfast (which we skipped that day).

All in all, I would have to say that you don't get good value for your money. Don is creating a VERY familiar atmosphere that you wouldn't expect in a guesthouse that charges 850R a night per room - we've stayed in comparably costly places in SA and they were all rather distinguished, up-market and quiet. At the Acorn B'n'B it almost feels like being in a Youth Hostel (with grown up guests, of course). If you like that kind of familiarity with total strangers though, the Acorn B'n'B is your place!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DadaSuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB_12, Manager at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to do this review. I value all my guests input as this is the only way I have of keeping repeat guests happy. I take note of all comments and where possible all will be evaluated and where necessary rectified. I realize I cannot please everybody. I will keep trying………………….
I am sorry I did not “read you correctly” in that you and your partner obviously wanted alone time. Hence the familiar friendly atmosphere which you did not appreciate, which is one of our strong selling points with most guests. As you saw in the common area there was another table which could have been set just for the 2 of you had you indicated this to me. It is much easier being a quite, discrete B&B proprietor .
As I was larger than life I would have appreciated your queering the whereabouts of the laundry bag, bath robes and soap. I am mortified that the decanter and glasses looked dusty as there is almost a back to back turnover so dust would have been the last thing there should have been visible.
Regarding the changing of the towels – as per the notice on your dressing table regarding environmental concerns – should it not have been a concern of yours you only had to put the towels in the shower and new towels would have been put in your room each day as per the notice.
Apologies for asking you if one of the guests could use your bathroom as it was the closest to the dining area and she was desperate and felt she could not make it to her room. This was a human reaction to sombody in distress.
Regarding the open gate in spite of all the security measures in place – what can I say when you have other guests who feel so secure that they do not think it important to close the door behind themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Acorn which is outside of town but close enough to travel to. We only had a night there and Dan made it worth our while. We took advantage of the tour option and saw more of Durban and learned more of the past and present history than we ever would have on our own! We sampled local food and saw sooo much!! The decor is nice with nice rooms (though not crazy about zebra rugs) and it's in a safe area. If you're looking for a safe and quaint place in Durban, this lovely place is it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khyati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to put your generous comments onto Trip Adviser it is much appreciated. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Africa so I can show you even more of the Worlds best kept secret destination.
Many thanks once again and kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very good b&b, would recommend it. Well located for the ICC where our conference was, and near to some restaurants and the Musgrave Centre Mall. It is in a beautiful 1920's house and the host is very welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hi we are looking forward to your next visit to Durban after such a generous review on Trip Adviser. We appreciated the fact that you commented that we are very central to all activities for those business trips.
Many thanks and kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My stay at the Acorn B&B was lovely. Don Atkinson is a phenomenal host. From beginning to end I had a smile on my face.

-The house is beautiful
-The rooms are spacious and very comfortable
-The attention to detail adds to an authentically 'Acorn B&B' experience
-The foods was lovely
-And Tammy the dog is every dog lover's dream with her tricks and friendly personality

I give this B&B a resounding 10/10!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lerato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Tammy the Labrador says "Welcome back to your Durban home." She loves guests who love animals and make a fuss of her.
Thank you for your generous comments regarding your stay at Acorn B&B, they are most appreciated as we love to make our guests feel comfortable and at home.
Many thanks once again and kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

A wonderful 2 day stay. Excellent accommodation! The owner, DON, was an outstanding host, always most friendly and helpful, as were the staff, included. I would have no hesitation whatsoever, in recommending this delightful colonial home, for a peaceful and most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Room Nr.1, large, and spacious, great garden views. Great bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAROL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hi Carol Many thanks for making time to do a review on Acorn B&B in Durban which was most appreciated in order to bring us to the attention of other potential visitors to Durban.
Looking forward to another visit from the family
Thanks and kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our stay in this nice B+B was excellent. Great rooms, service, great people! Anytime again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hi Timo Thank you for the glowing review on Trip Adviser - we look forward to your next business visit from your "Home away from home"
Many thanks and kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.8 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
0.4 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#160 of 258 in Durban
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,529 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#98 of 258 in Durban
35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Valencia
Villa Valencia
#152 of 258 in Durban
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn B&B in Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn B&B in Durban

Address: 3 Wolfenden Grove Off Marriott Road | Essenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: $49 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn B&B in Durban 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I know a place that feels like home..."Set high on the Durban Berea is the exclusive "Acorn B&B in Durban..." An oasis of calm and graciousness, with lush tropical gardens, sparkling pool, and interior comfort, decor and service of the highest international standards.... Whether you're having a refreshing dip in the pool, settling in with a good book under the thatch, or having a quiet drink with friends under the stars, "Acorn B&B in Durban" grounds are conducive to relaxation.We have facilities for outdoor dining as well as braais (barbecues). We are able to host small functions, from secluded high-level business gatherings to intimate cocktail parties. We wish you a pleasant stay and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next trip! TARRIF: R725 single and R495 sharing Including Breakfast WE HAVE A GENERATOR AND FREE WIFI ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing