We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Acorn B&B in Durban
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 05/26
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Durban(Durban)
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$161
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$126
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Benjamin(Durban)
$123
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
99
17
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
17
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homebreakfast tablean excellent hosttwo nightsa lovely place to stayfelt like homepleasant stayswimming poolrooms are spaciousenjoyed my stayatkinsontammylabluxuriescomfortstopoverhosts
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 118 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Acorn which is outside of town but close enough to travel to. We only had a night there and Dan made it worth our while. We took advantage of the tour option and saw more of Durban and learned more of the past and present history than we ever would have on our own! We sampled local food and saw sooo much!! The decor is nice with nice rooms (though not crazy about zebra rugs) and it's in a safe area. If you're looking for a safe and quaint place in Durban, this lovely place is it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khyati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to put your generous comments onto Trip Adviser it is much appreciated. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Africa so I can show you even more of the Worlds best kept secret destination.
Many thanks once again and kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very good b&b, would recommend it. Well located for the ICC where our conference was, and near to some restaurants and the Musgrave Centre Mall. It is in a beautiful 1920's house and the host is very welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hi we are looking forward to your next visit to Durban after such a generous review on Trip Adviser. We appreciated the fact that you commented that we are very central to all activities for those business trips.
Many thanks and kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My stay at the Acorn B&B was lovely. Don Atkinson is a phenomenal host. From beginning to end I had a smile on my face.

-The house is beautiful
-The rooms are spacious and very comfortable
-The attention to detail adds to an authentically 'Acorn B&B' experience
-The foods was lovely
-And Tammy the dog is every dog lover's dream with her tricks and friendly personality

I give this B&B a resounding 10/10!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lerato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Tammy the Labrador says "Welcome back to your Durban home." She loves guests who love animals and make a fuss of her.
Thank you for your generous comments regarding your stay at Acorn B&B, they are most appreciated as we love to make our guests feel comfortable and at home.
Many thanks once again and kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

A wonderful 2 day stay. Excellent accommodation! The owner, DON, was an outstanding host, always most friendly and helpful, as were the staff, included. I would have no hesitation whatsoever, in recommending this delightful colonial home, for a peaceful and most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Room Nr.1, large, and spacious, great garden views. Great bathroom!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAROL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hi Carol Many thanks for making time to do a review on Acorn B&B in Durban which was most appreciated in order to bring us to the attention of other potential visitors to Durban.
Looking forward to another visit from the family
Thanks and kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our stay in this nice B+B was excellent. Great rooms, service, great people! Anytime again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Hi Timo Thank you for the glowing review on Trip Adviser - we look forward to your next business visit from your "Home away from home"
Many thanks and kind regards
Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews