We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acorn B&B in Durban
Ranked #12 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morningside, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My stay at the Acorn B&B was lovely. Don Atkinson is a phenomenal host. From beginning to end I had a smile on my face.

-The house is beautiful
-The rooms are spacious and very comfortable
-The attention to detail adds to an authentically 'Acorn B&B' experience
-The foods was lovely
-And Tammy the dog is every dog lover's dream with her tricks and friendly personality

I give this B&B a resounding 10/10!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lerato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Tammy the Labrador says "Welcome back to your Durban home." She loves guests who love animals and make a fuss of her.
Thank you for your generous comments regarding your stay at Acorn B&B, they are most appreciated as we love to make our guests feel comfortable and at home.
Many thanks once again and kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
21
3
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PRETORIA, SOUTH AFRICA
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2012

A wonderful 2 day stay. Excellent accommodation! The owner, DON, was an outstanding host, always most friendly and helpful, as were the staff, included. I would have no hesitation whatsoever, in recommending this delightful colonial home, for a peaceful and most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Room Nr.1, large, and spacious, great garden views. Great bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi Carol Many thanks for making time to do a review on Acorn B&B in Durban which was most appreciated in order to bring us to the attention of other potential visitors to Durban.
Looking forward to another visit from the family
Thanks and kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our stay in this nice B+B was excellent. Great rooms, service, great people! Anytime again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi Timo Thank you for the glowing review on Trip Adviser - we look forward to your next business visit from your "Home away from home"
Many thanks and kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I took part in Comrades marathon in Durban, in 03.06.2012. Because of late entry to the race, I had problems to find accommodation in hotels in Durban. Travel company Safari Sun, to whom I turned for help, gave me name of Acorn B&B in Durban. After I returned home from Durban, I can say that I made excellent choice to stay in this B&B. Fantastic host - Mr Don Atkinson. He is ready to help in everything you need! He is available and ready to help 24/7. Very, very kind and helpful! Real Gentlemen! Comfortable rooms, very delicious meals and great garden! Those are only few assets of this magic place! The dog Tammi - real beauty, very friendly! If weather would be warmer, I would test swimming pool, which is situated in the garden!
If I travel to Durban again - I know where to stay - Acorn B&B.
Viesturs Dude
Latvia.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viesturs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi Viesturs We are looking forward to you doing the Comrades again in 2014 and staying with us at Acorn B&B in Durban. Even Tammy the dog is wondering were you are.
Many thanks for a wonderful review on Trip Advisor it is most appreciated
Kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our booking into Acorn was very last minute, when we phoned, the owner Don was very helpful and super friendly. Our flight was delayed and despite our late arrival, they were so flexible. We enjoyed the comfortable beds and lovely linen. The rooms are very basic, clean and with tv,shower and a dressing gown. There are a few special touches like the port, chocolate and a beaded acorn key ring given when you check out. Breakfast is served at the patio overlooking a stunning garden. We arrived too late for dinner and bought food at the airport, there was a lovely microwave we could use to warm up our meal. Over all, this BandB is fantastic and great value for money in the Musgrave area. You will enjoy the hosts!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMadonsela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your generous review of Acorn B&B in Durban on Trip Adviser which was much appreciated. We look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future.
Many thanks and kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

All comforts are provided. The host, Don, is a delight and will help you plan your visit to Durban.
The room was very comfortable with an en suite and a decanter of excellent sherry. Yum!
Breakfast was huge and delicious.
The house dog, Tammi, is a sweetheart. She loves attention from dog lovers but is sensitive to those who do not like dogs. (She is not allowed in any of the rooms). A huge asset to the establishment.
We wish we had planned our trip to stay longer in Durban and at Acorn.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J4055d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review on Trip Adviser, it was most appreciated . Tammy the dog is wondering when you are planning your return trip to Durban?.
Many thanks once again and kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Acorn B&B - The little touches of a sherry nightcap, an acorn chocolate, fresh towels and robes make it such a pleasure to stay there. The breakfast was delicious, the garden is beautiful and the rooms were comfortable and well equipped.
Don is a charming host and was very helpful with directions to our meetings and his humour of acorns being run by a big oke (oak) entertained us immensely.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christywatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcornBandB, Owner at Acorn B&B in Durban, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Love guests who have a sense of humour and love them even more when they put good reviews up on Trip Adviser - Much appreciated and many thanks for those kind words hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,432 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.4 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#5 of 43 in Durban
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Essenwood House
Essenwood House
#6 of 255 in Durban
257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn B&B in Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn B&B in Durban

Property: Acorn B&B in Durban
Address: 3 Wolfenden Grove Off Marriott Road | Essenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn B&B in Durban 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I know a place that feels like home..."Set high on the Durban Berea is the exclusive "Acorn B&B in Durban..." An oasis of calm and graciousness, with lush tropical gardens, sparkling pool, and interior comfort, decor and service of the highest international standards.... Whether you're having a refreshing dip in the pool, settling in with a good book under the thatch, or having a quiet drink with friends under the stars, "Acorn B&B in Durban" grounds are conducive to relaxation.We have facilities for outdoor dining as well as braais (barbecues). We are able to host small functions, from secluded high-level business gatherings to intimate cocktail parties. We wish you a pleasant stay and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next trip! TARRIF: R725 single and R495 sharing Including Breakfast WE HAVE A GENERATOR AND FREE WIFI ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing