We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The first of hopefully many safaris”

Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Durban Day Safaris and Overnight Durban Safari Tours to visit the ‘Big 5’ nature reserves, Drakensberg mountains and the Battlefields of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa We are an owner run specialist Durban Safari “Big 5” and Durban Tour Operator company based near Durban. We have been operating out of Durban since February 2010 and focus our tailor made Durban Safaris and Durban Tours around the Durban and KwaZulu-Natal area of South Africa. Specialists in Nature Tours – Durban Safaris/Drakensberg Mountain Tours, Cultural Zulu Tours and Historical Battlefield Tours departing from Durban City. The main areas our Durban Safaris and Durban Tours are focused around are the ‘Big 5’ Hluhluwe Imfolozi game reserve for Safaris, Drakensberg mountains for hiking and scenic Tours. The Valley of 1000 Hills for Zulu cultural villages/Tours and township Tours as well as Dundee for Battlefield Safari Tours from Durban throughout KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. Tim Brown Tours will tailor make a Safari from Durban or Tour from Durban to suit your specific requirements if you cannot find a listed Durban Safari or Durban Tour that meets your requirements. We will collect you from your Hotel in the Durban area and return you there after your Durban Safari or Durban Tour experience. We offer a high level of service and can be flexible with our Durban Day Safaris/Tours and our Durban overnight Safaris/Tours, to ensure that you our valued clients have the best possible experience on your Durban ‘Big 5’ Bush Safari, Drakensberg mountain Tour or Battlefield Historical Tour in and around our beautiful city of Durban, province KwaZulu-Natal and country of South Africa!
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The first of hopefully many safaris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Work pressures have meant that it has taken 2 months to find time to write this - but time has not diminished the memory. This was a fabulous three days and great value for money. We couldn't have had a better guide than Tim, who was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. I am now a safari enthusiast.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Angela

Thank you for reviewing Tim Brown Tours I glad you enjoyed it.

regards

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    11
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“An excellent and awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

It was a fantastic tour!!!

Tim is a great guide and has expert knowledge on the history and culture of the area as well as fauna and flora to be seen in the reserve.
His car and all further equipment are all very professional and up to very high standard and reliable, which was something we were looking for when booking online.
He planned all the stops along the route well, so there was enough opportunity to visit good sanitary facilities and buy refreshments, besides his stock of cool bottled water in the car.

We enjoyed every minute of the tour, even the three hour drive so early in the morning during which he told us about landmarks, buildings and cultures and the rich history of the area.

His efforts to find -at least one- elephant paid off, we were so lucky. We are very grateful as it was a perfect end to a perfect day in this stunning reserve.

I really recommend to contact him when looking to do a safari. I will go again when I’m in South Africa!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aleid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Aleid

Thank you for your great review.

regards

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Exceptional Hluhluwe Umfolozi Safari Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Tim passion for quality customer service was apparent from the time he met us at the hotel until he safely returned us three days later. He responded promptly to email inquiries prior to our tour, was punctual to the pick up time at the hotel, thorough in his explanation of our itinerary and easy to understand. Tim has extensive knowledge of the history of the Zulu's as well as the characteristics and behaviours of the animals we viewed in the game reserve. Upon arrival and departure from the Hilltop Camp, Tim took care of all the details. Our visit to the game reserve far exceeded our expectations thanks to Tim.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Myra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Myra

Thank you for your review and I hope all goes well in your next Police congress.

regards

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing 3 day tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My travel companion and I booked Tim Brown tour and has a great time. We were promptly picked up at our hotel and driven to the Cat rehabilitation center where we both get to pet the Cheetah, wow. We continued to the Reserve and on the first day witnessed a lot of nature's wonders. We say a herd of 70 elephants and much more. The second day was a bit grey however it was great for some of the animals and great for picture taking. Lucky for us as nature would have it, the lions killed their tray and were very close to the roadway. We continued on the third day adding the river cruise and say lots of Hyppos. Being the beginning of springs we say lots of younger animals. Tim's vast knowledge about the communities, animals, their habits and the culture made this trip exceed our expectation. One of the good thing was the closed vehicle. Great for photos and good for any weather. Tim's really care about the animals and explained why certain steps were taken during the safari. The price is very fair and the room was great. Our friends who took the tour a few days before us also had a great experience.
Thanks Tim.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Suzanne

Thank you for your review that Lioness on the Kill was amazing so close to the road!

regards

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I booked a 3 day tour for a group of 8 friends from Durban to Hluhluwe Umfolozi and St Lucia. Tim was great from the start, replying quickly to questions before booking and adjusting the tour slightly to include a cat rehabilitation centre which we really wanted to include. Everything about the tour was great, Tim was incredibly knowledgable and made the tour a lot of fun. We saw lots of animals and Tim knew his way around the game reserve like the back of his hand. The Hilltop safari lodge that we stayed in was great with fantastic views over the game reserve. We opted to go with the open top game drives with the lodge and Tim took us out during the day. I'd recommend booking at least one of these so that you get a real safari experience in the open vehicle and we also saw a lot of animals on the early morning game drives. It was also a great experience doing the night time drives trying to spot animals in the dark with big torches.

We all had a wonderful time, it would be difficult to have a bad time when you are surrounded by such amazing scenery and wildlife but it was Tim that really made the tour for us, we felt that he was part of our group and didn't want to say goodbye at the end! Thanks Tim for a fab trip :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TKVix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimBrownTours, Owner at Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Vicky

Glad you all enjoyed it, thanks for the review.

regards

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours also viewed

 

Been to Tim Brown Tours - Durban Safari Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing