We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #144 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Kobe, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wish we had longer”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Booked this place last minute before flying out of Durban, but wished we could stay longer! We stayed in the blue room which, as other reviews have mentioned, didn't have a door between the bathroom and bedroom, but whatever! The room was beautiful, well appointed and clean. Had an excellent breakfast on the terrace before heading out, but really wish we could've stayed to hang out by the pool. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrideChilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stylish and very comfortable with everything you possibly need. The bedroom is sumptuous and great care has gone into the whole experience. Good breakfast too. Pity the TV system is limited and old fashioned; would have liked wi-fi too to be complete.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianS992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My name is E. L. from Greece and on 11th December 2012 I made a reservation for 1 night at Sir Harveys B&B through booking.com for 26th December 2012. I sent them ( at hotel and booking.com) mail, where I informed them that, we will arrive at 7pm after a long and difficult journey from Maseru via Sani Pass. When we arrived on 26th December, at 7pm, we found a lady, who told us that there is no available room for us due overbooking and we must go to sleep to another accommodation and the next day to return for the breakfast. When I asked her if, the other accommodation would provide to us the same facilities, she was not sure about and she proposed to us to wait for the owner (he was out of the town) by drinking complimentary drinks. We had just arrived after 12 hours driving, we had made the reservation 2,5 months ago, and the lady told us to wait by drinking for free!!!!!! And I am wondering??? How is possible to there is overbooking in an accommodation with only 5 rooms?? And, if, so, how the owner decide to send us and NO other client in another accommodation?? And, if, so, why I must respect booking.com and the owner of Sir Harveys??? I felt very disappointed and I left. The result: for 3 hours I was looking for available room in Durban, where there was almost a million visitors for Christmas. I think that was unacceptable for Sir Harveys and for booking.com. Both of them had the obligation to respect my reservation. After all that, the owner of Sir Harveys decided not to charge me for cancellation and booking.com not to punish Sir Harveys. Since I found accommodation in the same price, so good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELENIL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

A superbly decorated home from home, with spectacular personal touches. Our room, the Savoy, had a luxurious slipper bath, robes, exquisite body lotions, all decanted into exquisite cut glass containers. Beautiful perfumes waft around the dining areas and outdoor seating areas are beautifully lit at night by the mesmerising light of what seems, 100 candles. Beautifully maintained rose gardens ease the eye towards the lovely pool and pergolas. Breakfast - seeing is believing - a 5 star breakfast - freshest of fresh fruit salads, muffins, english breakfast, all served with finesse and wonderful smiles. Sonja, the owner is a gracious hostess and her attention to the minutest detail was well observed. Well dressed staff always on hand to gladly assist you. I felt like I was on a 5 star safari - yet we were 2 minutes from a fabulous restaurant and 8 minutes from a lovely shopping centre. Nothing more to say than - don't miss out on this one!!!!

Room Tip: ask Sonja Jarvis - she'll give the best tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamarachas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.8 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Mythai Guesthouse
Mythai Guesthouse
#35 of 255 in Durban
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Sica's The Loft
#116 of 255 in Durban
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Valencia
Villa Valencia
#143 of 255 in Durban
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Musgrave Avenue Guest Lodge
0.1 mi away
Ridgeview Lodge
Ridgeview Lodge
#18 of 255 in Durban
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast
Address: 242 JB Marks Road | Glenwood, Durban 4022, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Harvey's offers luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a leafy suburb. Sir Harvey's is conveniently close to the beach, the city centre, the university and hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sir Harveys Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing