We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvey's

Harvey's
Ranked #58 of 589 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

What an amazing experience! From the minute we arrived the manager, Steven, made sure we were there for an unforgettable eating experience. What was so pleasant to see was that he treated everybody who entered the same way. Well done harvey's!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janine-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    40
    27
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“UMHLANGA be proud you now have a first class restaurant to fine at”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I popped in for lunch today thinking that something lite and tasty would be perfect.
Chicken livers starter and Caesar salad for mains hit the spot. The presentation was world class, not to mention the exquisite flavours. I loved my meal from start to finish. The service was attentive but not in my face.
I will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What happened Harvey's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Such a huge disappointment to find this fantastic restaurant has lost is appeal. The atmosphere is trendy but cold, the menu is tempting but the food not and the service just plain average. I was terribly disappointed to find that my gnocchi that I ordered , was nothing more than fried mash potato and the starter caprese salad which delightfully said buffalo mozzarella was cheap old plain processed cheese. Definitely not a restaurant Ill go back to in a hurry. Shame on you Harvey's!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
“Harvey's a culinary blessing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Harvey's has everything a great restaurant needs. A friendly staff, nice vibe, the place looks really good and last but not least: the food is very well cooked. We loved the Kudu and the duck.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SemdeWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Trendy, tasty and enjoyable once you get comfortable w/the corseted waiters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great lamb dish at lunch and yummy twist on fish and chips. Sorbets were delightful. Dined on the deck.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonagold4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey's also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Harvey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing