We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glory days” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvey's

Harvey's
Ranked #58 of 589 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool,UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Glory days”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had lunch here with a party of 7. Service was astonishingly slow. Inept waiter offered us wine list and then took another 10 minutes before menu was produced. Food order was placed. Took 45 minutes to get food!! Asked the waiter and his answer was that everything is made fresh. At these prices I would expect nothing less! At no point did the manager bother to come over and ask about our meals. I ate a burger which was served cold. This was off the lynch menu so what could be the reason for the delay? After finishing our meals the manager came over to apologise. Took 100 rand off the bill( about 7 quid). They just do not get it! It is not about the money. It is your shoddy attitude and complete lack of insight that would prevent me from coming back. Sad to see but this was one if the top restaurants in the province many years ago. No longer . Do not bother. Food is mediocre. Way overrated. Try ninth avenue for a quality experience. There are far better options available without having to be patronised in this manner.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank huitres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    40
    27
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Seasonal bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Harvey's is a Durban institution, but for some reason I'd never tried the food, only the good cocktails. I recently remedied that on a Durban winter's evening with some friends. Being Durban, we were comfortable sitting on the terrace in the middle of winter, after 20h00. (There were heaters nearby, just in case.)
The evening was excellent. The service was on point, if not a little too enthusiastic! The food was seasonal, fresh and heart warming. The decor: tasteful and eclectic.
Harvey's a little restaurant that now has a permanent place in my heart.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank u-amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canaan, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kindness, warmth, and unbelievable food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

It has been a long time since I felt so welcome at a restaurant -- amazing, considering that I was dining alone (a pain for waiters, who make that fact obvious in other places) and I was clearly a tourist, not a regular (actually, I was traveling on business, but I wasn't dressed that way). Yet the whole staff treated me as if I were the owner's brother -- and it was obvious they were treating everyone else the same way. The beautiful outdoor setting was another plus. And then there was the food -- original preparations, fresh ingredients, great variety. This was one of my best nights in a restaurant anywhere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyPNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Courgette Soup ever.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were recommended to this restaurant by the Upton Hall guest house.
What a recommendation!!!
Food superb.
The courgette soup as starter was outstanding in both presentation and taste
Main course of Rotolo di Porcini...vegetarian dish of pasta/spinach/mushrooms/feta....really good!
Service good....it seems that there are 3 waitrons serving all the tables and they do a good job.
Just one of them needs to smile just a little more....
Nice and comfy area outside for us smokers...with couches etc
Shall definitly go back for more

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Madame_XYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“perfect outdoor dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Eating on the covered patio on a balmy Durban evening is a treat. The duck is a winner and the specials usually include game like springbok or kudu. Situated opposite Mitchell park there is lots of space for a relaxing drink before your meal. Harvey's is a good choice for a special occasion but you can also lunch there and take advantage of a set two course special. The venue can also be booked for a function.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank durban W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey's also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Harvey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing