We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BOOKED FOR NINE NIGHTS LEFT AFTER TWO NIGHTS”
Review of Fiddlers Rest

Fiddlers Rest
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fiddlers Rest
Ranked #111 of 250 Durban B&B and Inns
auckland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“BOOKED FOR NINE NIGHTS LEFT AFTER TWO NIGHTS”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Rosetta House recommended Fiddlers Rest so despite the fact there was no reviews I was confident it would be good.
From the road I immediately had second thoughts No 11 blends into the wall and fiddlers rest sign is extremely small there is no indication at the entrance that it is a Guesthouse, however No 9 is clearly displayed so made it easier to find.
My bag was carried to my room which had a seperate entrance I was given a key and remote for the gate.
The room was VERY dated ghastly furniture real cheap and 'old looking'. Set of drawers that were not easy to open and close. A noisy fridge which I switched off at night. The bed was awful I felt every spring and looking at the mattress you could tell it was very cheap. Duvet cover had seen better days buttons just about to fall off. Sofa in room with armrest covers with holes. Wine glasses in room were dirty. Thick black dust around pictures on wall I could go on and on.
In contrast good quality blackout curtains and a modern bathroom which was very clean with a very powerful shower.
Breakfast was very good.
Initially I thought I was just being fussy but when my friend arrived 2 days later and was shown to her room she confirmed that she was not staying.
The owner Lilian was shocked when we informed her we were leaving I had paid in full and I was happy to lose all my money however she did refund 1900 Rand, my friend had paid 50 % which she obviously did not get back. We escaped to Coastlands on the ridge (see review) Which was bliss.
Lilian informed us this had never happened before and that she had always had glowing reviews ( She did not show them to us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
My room at fiddlers was R750 per night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazybauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffany63, Owner at Fiddlers Rest, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
This Guest was charged for 4 days and lost her deposit because she was booked in from 15 June and only let us know at 11.30 pm that she would only be arriving the following day. She arrived the next morning and left on the evening of 18 June 2011 after the arrival of her friend who stated that she only ever stayed in Hotels and did not like guest houses. The guest then told me that she found the bed uncomfortable and I was absolutely astonished because the previous day when I greeted her at breakfast she had told me that she had slept like a log. What amazes me is that I had a fair amount of interaction with this particular guest while giving directions, serving breakfast etc and at no stage during her 3 day stay here did she give me any indication that she was in any way dissatisfied with anything.
I do conced that I discovered some dust on top of the pictures & apogize for this oversight. This guest stayed here at the same time as the person who wrote our first review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Valencia
Villa Valencia
#129 of 250 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#156 of 250 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Flintstones Guest House
Flintstones Guest House
#182 of 250 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 23 in Westville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Africa Regent Guest House
Africa Regent Guest House
#34 of 250 in Durban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiddlers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiddlers Rest

Property: Fiddlers Rest
Address: 11 Havelock Crescent | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiddlers Rest is an English Style mansion set in lush tropical gardens. It is situated in prestigious Morningside and is minutes away from Durban's Golden Mile of beaches, trendy Florida Road which has many restaurants, all major sporting venues such as Moses Mhabida soccer stadium, Kings Park Rugby stadium, Kingsmead Cricket stadium, Durban Country Club Golf course and many others. Guests can be sure of warm hospitality a in gracious surroundings at Fiddlers Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fiddlers Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing