We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grange Guest House
Ranked #8 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding Guest House”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We spent four nights at The Grange Guesthouse while my son competed in a Chess Competition in Durban. What a warm, wonderful and welcoming atmosphere! Mutari was an incredible host and we all so enjoyed Dube, the charming dog. Breakfasts on the patio overlooking the peaceful garden were scrumptious. Our rooms were extremely comfortable and we loved the collection of art in the Guesthouse. There are a number of great restaurants nearby and the Guesthouse is an easy drive to the main attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
47
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in January and had a wonderful stay. Mutali was very helpful and provided us with wonderful breakfasts and knowledge of the city. We had booked the cottage to stay in but we did not realise it did not have air con so he moved us into the deluxe room on the first floor no extra charge. That is the room I would stay in with your own astro turf patio to sit and enjoy a beer watching the sun go down over the ocean. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Arrana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Just loved our stay at The Grange. We were welcomed with great smiles and interesting tips for touring Durban. This atmosphere made us feel at home and we'll definitely come back. The room was spacious, super clean, with beautiful view on the ocean and the garden.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine75Abidjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

One of the best guest houses I've ever been. The room was awesome and comparable to a 5 star hotel. The breakfast also was excellent. The guest house also offers a pool and secure parking. Note that there is a dog (as in almost all houses in South Africa).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Grange experience far exceeded all of our expectations. Mutari so graciously welcomed us despite our late arrival, and continued to be kind and helpful throughout our stay. The two bedroom suite was fantastic; private, beautifully, tastefully, and warmly decorated. The view of the pool, gardens, and distant ocean from the master bedroom's large window was stunning. The breakfast was incredible with delicious cold and hot extensive menu served outside on the stunning patio. They even thought to provide us with freshly baked muffins for snacking later in the day. Dube the dog added his loving touch to the pleasant atmosphere. We enjoyed lingering conversations and relaxing times unusual to most accommodations away from home. We felt safe and secure, delighting in the near by ocean front path Mutari told us about where one can walk, run or cycle for miles with free parking. We have travelled extensively and are amazed at the low cost for such ambience, comfort, inviting, and excellent food. It will definitely be our first choice for our next trip to Durban.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadiantravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The service was fantastic. We were welcomed by the owner who showed us to a lovely room with crisp white linen, tastefully decorated and very reasonably priced for the location! The bathroom was huge and the white towels soft and fluffy. We were surprised to find the breakfast menu more extensive than most 5 star hotels have to offer and the food was delicious. We enjoyed the atmosphere on the pool deck and the suites upstairs have a magnificent full ocean view. The owner was so kind and even offered to take the tuxedo that my husband rented back for us on the Monday as we had to depart on Sunday. We will certainly stay here again as it is very close to the Airport but also in a quiet corner of the upmarket Durban North

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laetitiac17 C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hluhluwe, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Grange has proved to be one of the best choices for our guests - you can always count on their professional yet friendly and genuine hospitality. We know our guests will receive the best of everything when they stay there! Lori Kelly - ZULU SUN SAFARIS - Kwa Zulu Natal, South Africa.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lorikelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annalagos, Owner at The Grange Guest House, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Although the tour guests only have a short stay with us we try to give them a little taste of Durban and the Indian restaurant down the road has proved popular. Occasionally we can help get them down to the Stadium for a quick trip up the cable car or Ushaka Marine World so they get some impression of Durban. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
4.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,420 reviews
4.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
436 reviews
4.8 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
3.9 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
4.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Guest House

Property: The Grange Guest House
Address: 1 Monteith Place, Durban 4051, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grange Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange Guest House is a gracious 1950's three story mansion situated in the leafy suburb of upper Durban North. Completely renovated in 2010, The Grange offers relaxed luxury with a mixture of old world and modern furnishings, the bathrooms are state of the art with frameless glass showers and suspended Italian basins and toilets. Very modern and sleek.All beds are extra long with quality percale sheets, extra large pillows and duvets.Broadway shopping area is 500m down the road and offers a wide selection of restaurants and fast food eateries amongst other services, all within walking distance. The Grange offers queen and deluxe king/twin bedrooms suiting the corporate or leisure traveller. Families are also catered for in two family rooms, children of all ages are welcomed and catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Grange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing