We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Moyo

Moyo
Ranked #62 of 662 Restaurants in Durban
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: African, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: moyo uSshaka is a uniquely Durban destination offering the perfect place in which to relax and watch the world go by.Cocktails at the Beach Bar, exquisite views of the Indian Ocean, tropical weather, exotic flavours and soulful vibes - this is Africa at its laidback best.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Was here with the family on the saturday of the Indaba weekend. I expected the place to be packed and rocking…

Quite the opposite. It was quiet, lights were dim, no music or entertainment as last year. No face painting. Food was below average and service average.

What's happened to this place. It was awesome last year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gobeyondtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo-ushaka-pier, General Manager at Moyo, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear gobeyondtravels,

Thanks for bringing these issues to light.

We appreciate all feedback.

Reagrds,

the moyo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 418 of 677 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014

This was the worst restaurant experience in a long time - perhaps ever.

I ordered a prego which came with a cardboard like piece of steak and soggy rolls. My wife had calamari which was marinated in something like golden syrup.... awful.

Any other place is better value....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markbols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo-ushaka-pier, General Manager at Moyo, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear Mark,

Thank you for your input - we are working on the issues you raised.

regards,

the moyo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great location right on the beach in a very safe area. Awesome food and very friendly staff. Will visit again :-)

Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo-ushaka-pier, General Manager at Moyo, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Dear Martin,

Thanks very much for your positive words - we will work hard to keep up the good work!

Regards,

the moyo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

On April the 30th we went to Moyo to celebrate a double birthday - well I know the weather wasn't great but firstly when they had to stuff a blanket into a gap in the door so we weren't blown away I knew things weren't going well for Moyo! Then it started to rain and guess what the rain poured in on us from the ceiling above - surely someone should do maintainence at this venue!
Things seemed to deteriorate from then on - my wife asked for a baked potatoe in preference to mash - no can do, the chef doesn't know how to bake a potatoe!!! OMG! Then when I explained how to perform this menial task we were told it would take another 30 minutes - we weren't asking them to grow the damn thing! When it did eventually arrive it looked like a deep fried potatoe with the skin on - we gave up. Her Mozambique Peri-Peri Chicken was as dry as tinder, when we approached the 'manager' Wayne with the problem he offered a sauce to add moisture to the dried chicken - the delay in getting the sauce was ridiculous and when it came it was liquid fire!!!
I had the oxtail which was tender but tasteless!!! No one else at the table raved about their meal either.
They tried to save the evening with their redition of Happy Birthday at the end - to little too late.
In my opinion this is just a tourist trap, giving the African feeling with poor to disasterous food knowing the tourists are off to other far away places and probably will never return.
We could to so much better to promote our African heritage and cuisine - no wonder the Moyo Group is in dire straits!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank russell a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo-ushaka-pier, General Manager at Moyo, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Dear Russell A,

Thank you for providing such detailed feedback.

We will benefit from this input greatly, and will also endeavour to improve our offering in the future.

Regards,

the moyo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

What a setting! Perched in the edge of the pier, with one of the best vies of Durban's Golden Mile Skyline. Go for a sundowner and watch the sunset of pinks transfer into the glistening lights if the city when dusk is over. Just a warning, be patient. The service is slow. But worth the scenery.

Thank Henk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moyo-ushaka-pier, General Manager at Moyo, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014

Dera Henk S

Thank you so much for your kind words!

We will work hard on improving the speed of service.

Thanks again

The moyo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moyo also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Moyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing