We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“four night stay here”
Review of Hotel 64 on Gordon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 64 on Gordon
Ranked #56 of 258 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

the beds are so luxurious, even had a private zen garden attached to our room. only issue was that there was no door to the shower just a curtain covering you, which was a little awkward at times when sharing a room with people. had my expensive camera and money and phones scattered around the room when people came into clean and absolutely nothing was touched.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mugglesmigoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback and comments.
I am pleased to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel 64 on Gordon in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tarryn Burrows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 74 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is unclean , we found bugs in the bed and the room.
It was not a good stay , the sheets and towels were dirty,

I would not recommend anyone stay at this hotel.

Poor service.
There is nothing on the menu that caters for vegeterians.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 312595Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your valued feedback and comments.
I do apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay.
I will be investigating the matter urgently, as this is not how I run my hotel.
With regards to the breakfast menu we have a variety of options on the menu to cater for all our guests and we will accommodate our guests in every means, thus why you can choose items one the menu to make up your breakfast.

Kind Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Paid in advance for 3 rooms for 3 nights. Inspite of us communicating on emails for weeks and the night before my arrival- the following took place. Rooms were not booked in one building, on arrival we were not greeted - abruptly told that they were fully booked and could not start shifting guest around. Out of the 3 rooms only one room was serviced and ready (we arrived after a 6/7hour drive at 2.30 in the afternoon) - there are no tiles/carpet/etc on the floor of the rooms (this was a shock to me as I have travelled extensively and have never seen a hotel with cement floor), no tub only shower, linen was dirty and smelly (had to insist that the linen be changed for the two rooms) - bird pooh on my sliding door (inspite of me showing - never cleaned), sliding door muddy not cleaned, white chairs on balcony muddy, pealing paint on wall -strong paint smell, ants crawling in a line, had to request for toilet roll, towels/soaps not changed etc during my stay-my daughter's room had cochroach and spider on the wall - breakfast buffet flies - not covered with netting, etc. Cooked breakfast and coffee was great on the plus. Very noisy in the morning (as early as 6am). This hotel is not suited for families with children as there are no activies/gardens/swimming pools/gyms, etc. They have wifi which is charged.
It is suited for singles, couples, business - but not for long stays.

Room Tip: Not suitable for children - no activities/garden When booking ask for rooms on the Sunny Side - my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shamin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 15, 2013

Dear Shamind

Thank you for your review.
I apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay for you and your family.
The reason as to why we could not allocate the rooms nearer to one another was due to the fact we were fully booked and I feel that the rooms were allocated to the best of our abilities.
If you see any of the photos on any online site for our hotel it does not advertise a pool/gym/activities as we do not offer any of them.
In the photos of our rooms it clearly shows the concrete floors as this is the design of the hotel.
We are designed to be an industrial looking hotel.
We do not advertise our rooms to have bath tubs as there are only showers in all our rooms and if you had requested a room with a bath tub my staff members would have advised you on the time of booking that we do not have any bath tubs/gym/pool/activities for children.
With regards to the rooms not being ready I do apologize for this and this was an issue with my laundry who failed to deliver on time and I apologize about this.

The wifi is complimentary to all our guests and the code is obtained from reception.
If asked at reception my staff would have gladly given you or your family members a code for the wifi.

Our breakfast buffet has nets to cover the fruit salad/yoghurt, etc due to the odd fruit flies we have and they are placed on top of the food at all times.


Kind Regards

Tarryn Burrows

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We made a booking and paid in full. In our first enquiry and confirmation we requested a certian room. When we got there we were given a room at the back next to the parking area that we did not want but had no choice. FURTHER we were told that they made a mistake with the rate and that we actually have to pay double than the amount quoted and accepted.

The next morning the manager interrupted my breakfast and loudly announced that I have a problem with the rate in front of everybody! I asked if I can see her later, we were with a Swiss friend and he wanted no trouble and insisted that we pay and stay....

This time our rooms were dirty, we found a fly in the orange juice that was just spooned out.... the staff was so unhelpful and did not understand anything we asked, my friend said that it is the most unmotivated staff he has ever seen.

I was so embarrassed and would never stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilFaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Booking was a pleasure after a bad experience with another guesthouse in Durban. We got to the guesthouse easily, it is very centrally located, great rooms with balcony and everything we needed.

Breakfast in the morning was more than adequate, and no charge for the extra coffee!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilFaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here in January for 4 nights and although it's not so close to the beach it's a lovely hotel with a very nice selection of breakfast and the food at the restaurant was very nice! Would defiantly recommend this hotel for people looking for some peace and quiet and nice rooms... Good value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibbooz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Very reasonable price for its excellent location, with simple yet elegant design. The staff are very friendly, but it seems management needs a bit of oversight since the rooms were not very clean (used glasses, dirty carpet in bathroom, had to ask for staff to clean a table for breakfast and for new towels in the room..). Its a great concept- just needs attention. Breakfast is good; careful of the way overpriced bar, even for sparkling water!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter, towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.6 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#76 of 258 in Durban
34 reviews
2.8 mi away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#12 of 258 in Durban
134 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coweys Corner
Coweys Corner
#1 of 7 in Berea
84 reviews
1.4 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#161 of 258 in Durban
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 64 on Gordon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 64 on Gordon

Address: 64 Gordon Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: $62 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 64 on Gordon 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In close proximity to Florida Road, the business and recreational ‘high street’ of Morningside, the Hotel enjoys the best of the quiet private street and the convenience of the accessible entertainment and public activities.We are living in times of conscious ‘down-scaling’ of unnecessary consumerism – Hotel 64 on Gordon recognises this in the lack of over decoration, and reliance rather on the considered design of the necessary to build the overall style and visual experience, whilst not compromising comfort and experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel 64 on Gordon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing