We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in good location with excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. James on Venice
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days in July. The room was spacious and well equipped. The food was of an excellent quality (matching some top restaurants) and I ate many meals at the hotel. It is very well located with easy access to local schools, good restaurants and tourist attractions. The staff were friendly and helpful and the manageress helped with information and bookings.
Only small downside is that the walls between the rooms are thin and the sounds from the bathroom in the adjacent room were easily audible in my room

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenvanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunet P, Manager at The St. James on Venice, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Good morning
Thank-you so much for your kind review, we look forward to having you back soon!

Regards
Sunet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for The St. James on Venice
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is an excellent boutique hotel that goes out of its way to be helpful in every way possible. All requests are handled quickly and efficiently. Last minute lunch packs - not a problem - freshly prepared in five minutes. Pleasant settings for breakfasts and other meals. Terrific staff throughout. Very good chef.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capeintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunet P, Manager at The St. James on Venice, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Good morning

Thank-you so much for your comments re the chef and hotel; we do look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Regards

Sunet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week in May this year (2013). We were very impressed with the room (spacious and clean), food (presentation and taste) and staff (very friendly). The Manageress was on hand during the day and was accommodating. We definitely would recommend this place and will stay there again on our next visit to Durban.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunet P, Manager at The St. James on Venice, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank-you Nicole, please visit us again when you are in Durban. Have a great week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This establishment is one of those hidden gems in a busy city like Durban. The service is top notch. They go that extra mile to ensure that you are enjoying your stay. It doesn't feel like an ordinary commercial hotel with tiny rooms, it feels like you are an elegantly decorated large home. It's situated in a lovely, quiet neighbourhood (approximately 30 mins from the beach and city centre) so sleep time is a joy. The rooms have A/C which is good during summer. Only down side is that they don't have many holiday (junk) food choices during dinner time like burgers, ribs, pizza etc. It was more like a like a menu for special occasions/posh restaurant, which would tie in with the hotel theme. Better service than commercial hotels, but not as expensive. I would definitely go there again.

Room Tip: If you are fussy, choose a room that has a wall separating the bathroom from the bedroom.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunet P, Manager at The St. James on Venice, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We look forward to welcoming you 'home' soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The St. James on Venice is a lovely hotel which combines all of the comforts one would expect from a larger establishment with the attentive service and intimacy of a smaller establishment, not to mention the old world charm of the building itself. The staff excellent and go out of their way to ensure that your stay is pleasant. Another added benefit of staying at the St. James is the restaurant which is excellent and offers a good selection at competitive prices. I would highly recommend the St. James on Venice to anyone who is looking for accommodation in Durban and would encourage you to consider this elegant establishment as an alternative to the more commercial run of the mill hotel chains, you won’t regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IAN_H12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunet P, Manager at The St. James on Venice, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank-you for your great review, we hope that you visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My family and I stayed here prior to my Comrade's marathon run, and we had a very good experience. The rooms are beautfully decorated, and the staff couldnt have been more helpful. They went out of their way to make sure that I had everything I needed prior to my marathon. Would definitely reccommend. It felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevMacke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunet P, Manager at The St. James on Venice, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Hi Bev
I hope you are training hard for next year? Promise to sort out the weather next time...:)

Sunet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The St. James is a beautifully renovated historic building with an excellent kitchen, an elegant and very friendly service and it's close to all Durban attractions. Sunet and her staff gave every support for our stay and activities.
We stayed at the St James as a start to a 14days visit to SA with our 2 sons (15+12) and we had such a warm welcome, super comfy beds, delicious breakfast (what a wide choice!) and dinner. High Tea was sumptuous and the best preparation for a Sharks Game :)! Coming back to Durban we even changed plans and spent our last night in South Africa at the St. James again. We enjoyed the garden rooms and the elegant ambiente of the patio before flying back to Switzerland.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms 9&10 and the garden rooms. All of them were stylish and comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liztaylor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunet P, Manager at The St. James on Venice, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

I hope the weather has not turned too cold there in Zurich? We look forward to welcoming you and your boys back soon, Durban's surf is waiting...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,463 reviews
0.0 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James on Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James on Venice

Address: 100 Venice Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range: $94 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The St. James on Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally the home of Corobrick founder Robert Storm who built it in 1892, the guesthouse is steeped in Durban history and retains much of its old world charm. The 15 bedrooms are individually decorated in a classically elegant style with some having a view over the century's old St James church while others look over the hotel's peaceful garden patio. Being close to the trendy eateries of Florida Road, Durban's beachfront, major sports stadiums (Kings Park and Moses Mabhida Football Stadium), golf courses and Jameson and Mitchell Parks means all Durban's attractions are just a short drive away. The guesthouse is ideal for small meetings, conferences and private dinners and is well equipped to ensure business runs smoothly and efficiently. For business guests, the guesthouse is well-placed for access to the ICC, as well as quick freeway access to the Umhlanga Ridge precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. James on Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing