We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in heart of Durban”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gem in heart of Durban”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at Docklands, it is positioned right opposite the Durban harbour. It is really great to watch a working dock in action. The hotel has friendly staff and spacious rooms. The fittings are quiet retro, and I like. This is a different from the norm, it puzzles me why people pay R300 more per night at an old and tired City Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour facing room, remember it is a working harbour and can be heard 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    74
    38
    24
    25
See reviews for
41
73
12
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very nice inner city hotel close to tourist spots on Durban beachfront. Wodka restaurant really good for dinne and breakfast. Rooms clean and comfortable. Would definitely recomend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with balcony overlookng the harbour. Interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aropertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Docklands is a great new hotel with funky industrial styling, but they are sadly let down by their showers - nothing more than a trickle comes out. The hotel is in a great area and other than the shower very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougbatchelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is stunning, ideally located at the harbour with a view of the ships docking. The rooms facing the harbour are quite noisy both day and night due to the work being carried out at the harbour. The staff are not so friendly especially at the reception. The rooms are modern and spacious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was attracted to the hotel by a press clipping advertising their new "pet friendly" policy - quite a rarity unfortunately in South Africa. So I packed up the dogs and went on a road trip. The hotel is new and funky - kind of industrial minimalist. I liked. The position is great, on the docks and in the heart of the new precinct being developed in that area. Easy walking distance to UShaka and South Beach, and easy to get to generally, although you do have to drive through a seedy part of the downtown area. It feels very safe all in all. Great for a change. Try get one of the rooms with the balconies looking out over the docks. Fascinating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wking21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed at Docklands for a business trip. It is under new management (Three Cities, which has beautiful small hotels) so many of the older reviews probably aren't relevant anymore. It is very stylish and the restaurant Wodka has delicious food, although the breakfasts are buffet style- reminiscent of conference food..You can get quite good room rates through Tripadvisor partners, like booking.com. Staff very friendly and the location will only improve once the road works are complete. Close to UShaka marine world and beach for walks. I loved the view of the water and docks from our room (4th floor).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor with a view of the water and docks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I Stayed here for almost a week during COP 17. The hotel has Nice modern Rooms with lot of space. The staff is very Friendly and helpfull (both desk and cleaning). Don't be bothered by the locationbecause you will need taxi anyway. to go around the city The hotel is quite close to the beachfront, so jogging is possible.
I would definitely recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boug32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,393 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
592 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
2.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
427 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel and Spa

Property: The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Address: 40 Mahatma Gandhi Road | Durban Point Waterfront, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Cities Waterfront Hotel and Spa (Formally known as the Three Cities Docklands Hotel) is located in the historical Durban Point Precinct. On the door step of Ushaka Marine World, Durban ICC and the famous Durban Golden Mile. The Three Cities Waterfront Hotel and Spa offers a quiet oasis overlooking the Durban Harbour. Offering Wodka Restaurant and three conference venues, The Three Cities Waterfront Hotel and Spa is enjoyed by the local artist crowd. Historical Walls have been retained to envelope the recently refurbished Three Cities Waterfront Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing