We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the city”
Review of McAllisters on 8th

McAllisters on 8th
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McAllisters on 8th
Ranked #106 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
bournemouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I was absolutely blown away with mcallisters and everything Elize does for you to make you feel at home.

We were arriving late but a transfer had been arranged for us without a hitch. On our arrival we were shown to our room which has to be one on the best I have seen in the b and b world. It was a great size, beautifully furnished and the personal details ( a welcome note with our names on) really helped make the difference.

The breakfast was fantastic my husband being given man sized portions ( bigger than mine) and it tasted great.

Whenever we needed local knowledge it was on hand and the location is great you feel really safe which we had been anxious about and near lots of restaurants and bars.

I can't speak highly enough of this b and b even on the day we left Elize the owner came to our room to say bye personally and see us off with a hug.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

During World Cup in June 2010 I stayed at McAllisters on 8th (www.8thave.co.za) for 10 days. I stayed with my friend, as we were there to watch football.

McAllisters on 8th is a small B&B located in a very nice area of the upscale neighbourhood of Morningside. It is about a 50 metre walk from Florida Road, where there are many restaurants and Bars- Butcher Boys, Spiga, Taco Zulu, Cubana, MO Noodles adn our favorite, 'Booty Bar' to name a few.

The facility is fenced-in and we felt safe at all times, both at the guest house and in the neighbourhood.

The guest house is a ~1.5 km walk form the new Durban Stadium and maybe 2.5km walk to the beach.

The guest house has several rooms of varying sizes and was very well kept- nicely furnsihed and very clean- the houskeeping staff cleaned daily and does a very nice job. We had some laundry done and it was done quicky and it was very reasonably priced.

Breakfast was outstanding, with a hot plate of eggs, potatoes and other items each day, along with a selection of pastires, cereal, coffee, tea and juice. Very nice!

Elize runs the guest house and she is very nice and very helpful. She offered to drive us a few times to the beach or stadium, but we usually walked.

We found McAllisters on 8th to be a very nice, safe, clean and affordable place to stay, with an excellent location. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Visited McAllisters during World Cup. Traditional, friendly service and hospitaility, with lots of little touches that shows they take pride in what they do. Cosy rooms round a courtyard and small pool where I got to meet the other guests from many different countries, and even walked to the match at Moses Mabhida stadium with them. Just off Florida Road with many busy bars and good restaurants to suit many tastes. Quick cab ride to Durban city centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSEFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Traveling with my brother and another friend for the World Cup we were looking for accommodation for 8 nights in a safer area close to plenty of restaurants and nightlife.

Here's what we got at McAllister's: A truly warm and friendly host in Liza, satisfying breakfasts, great service (same-day laundry, shuttles to the games), a beautiful little place to stay (mainhouse, courtyard, swimming pool, our room, all clean and meticulously cared for), a 1 block walk to the best nightlife in Durban on Florida Road, all at a fair price.

Also, only a 5 minute drive to the beach, Royal Durban Golf Club (I recommend), casino, and the sports stadiums.

There was not one negative about our stay at McAllisters. Each of us enjoyed our time there very much and felt fortunate to have found it. I highly recommend. Thank you Liza!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam1829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Valencia
Villa Valencia
#142 of 255 in Durban
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flintstones Guest House
Flintstones Guest House
#182 of 255 in Durban
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#156 of 255 in Durban
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 24 in Westville
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oliveroom B&B
Oliveroom B&B
#1 of 2 in Berea
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McAllisters on 8th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McAllisters on 8th

Property: McAllisters on 8th
Address: 11 Eighth Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Hotel Class:4 star — McAllisters on 8th 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing