We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food good value avoid the cocktails”
Review of Vintage India - CLOSED

Vintage India
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Norddeutschland
Level 6 Contributor
807 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
“Great food good value avoid the cocktails”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

As this restaurant was in a very nice walking distance to our hotel, the concierge, we decided to giv it a try. The ambience is a bot rustic and outdated but neverthelsse clean. They do offer seating on the veranda and have a large room inside which can get a little bit cool.

If you are in an indian restaurant it is always a good sign when a lot of indians come in so you knwo you get the real stuff and so we did.

As a starter you get some papadam with three sauces, be careful with the hot one, it is a hot one (I have eaten Thai food in Thailand). The menu is huge much to choose form but they also offer platters for the vegetarian and nonvegetarion appetizers. We had the veg platter and I must say I was amazed. Real tasty, lots of different things and a portion that alone would have been enough. Of course nevertheless we went for some curries and here it was the same. Very good taste, good quality, well prepared and a more than generous portion.

The staff was also friendly and helpful and we had a nice time.

So we left very satisfied especially considering the prices. One thing though: They do have a list of cocktails on the table. Do not bother.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Indian Taste Sensation”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The flavours are what blows you away. Though the décor is a little worse for wear it is completely blown from mind once you experience the explosion of tastes that makes Indian cuisine famous. The only other dark point was the desserts – though tasty, it was Italian sorbets and somehow unfitting to an otherwise brilliant little restaurant. The service was always friendly and helpful. The magic though was the food. It was so overwhelmingly good that another and another visit is already on the cards.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravensqarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hot as Hell”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Loved the variety of food. Please make sure to ask the level of hotness as you won't enjoy your food if it's too strong (true story!)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ateekah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best curry, faded decor”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Love the food, it was the best curry selection ever! the decor could use a fresh coat of paint, otherwise tasty and good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Innerpeace35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My first indian dinner”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The service was just great. As it was my first time eating indian the service suppost our dishes. We were 3 person and so sche told us wat itsnt good and to try differt sauces (one creamy, one spicy etc) fror us it was very good and we eat a lot (also vine). I only gave 4 points, because i dont know if it was delicious, no experience. Just can recomment

Helpful?
Thank Armando E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage India also viewed

 
Westville, Durban
Berea, Durban
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing