We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indo-Chinese Specialist”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vintage India - CLOSED

Vintage India
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Indo-Chinese Specialist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The setup is a bit dated and its slightly off the beaten path but it is without a doubt excellent in Indo-Chinese cuisine. Be sure to try the schezwan sauce for the brave and the paneer (cottage cheese) Manchurian basket. Well priced, good portions and basmati fried rice complimentary with meals.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nashvir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

i cant rememebr anything about the food but it wasnt bad, nice selection of indian beers was good treat and the excelent service really stood out...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Simple indian restaurant, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

The place doesn't look much on the outside, inside the decor is the typical odd collection of art, mirrors, wallpaper etc you find in most indian restaurants, the music is the same, this is a totally unpretentious place and they actually seem surprised to see you walk in !

The menu is extensive, but perhaps somewhat predictably i chose lamb rojan josh, rice and a minced lamb stuffed paratha, all of which was very good and the paratha was excellent. A castle beer to wash it all down and kulfi to follow, all for 138 Rand which is stunning value for money.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bin_porter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best CURRY ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

The owner of Gibela Backpackers told us about Vintage and as all of his tips and suggestions this was another gem. Huge variety of dishes and the staff took the time to explain what was what. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hellobye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food. Friendly service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

It was our first trip to Durban and I had read about Vintage India here. My husband and I are from Southeast Asia and we have high expectations of Indian food so we did not expect to find authentic Indian food in a South African city. But the food was authentic and delicious. Try the lamb bryani. It was excellent! Be mindful to ask for less spicy food if you are not good with the heat. Vintage was a great find. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bing_in_Jozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage India also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Westville, Durban
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing