We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Design”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Design”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you don't have a GPS or Map forget about finding this place. By some miracle we did though. Once there check in process was friendly and quick even though it was fairly late by the time we arrived.

Room was great with everything we needed. Very stylish/ funky. Loved the bathroom. Close to Florida Road if you wanted to get something to eat or have a drink.

Staff were fairly friendly at breakfast. Very quirky little breakfast venue in a poshed up container. Breakfast itself was excellent can't fault them there.

Great hidden gem in the heart of Durban.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard/ Cafe can be quite noisy in the Morning/Evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    71
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
117
29
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seville
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have chosen this hotel based on the photos and other reviews. The hotel itself is nice, the breakfast is absolutely delicious.
The problem is the noise, the cleaning staff is very noisy and woke us up everyday at 7AM... We could also hear noise from other bedrooms at night. The noise insulation it's quite an issue...
There's also an automatic fan in the bathroom that turns on every time you pass close to the bathroom and you can't shut it down (it's automatic)... and since the bathroom doesn't have a door, you can clearly hear the noisy fan in the bedroom.
The hotel has a nice patio and a private parking but if they have an event taking place (happened to us), they will not inform you and you will not be able to use the patio or the parking...
The staff could be more friendly...riendly...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria_del_mar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, uk
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband, parents in law and I stayed in the Concierge hotel for five nights. We really appreciated the nice breakfasts and friendly staff. They were always ready to book taxis for us. I remember Primrose in particular was friendly, and greeted us even when we bumped into her at the Marine World. The hotel felt really homely and all the amenities.The location turned out to be one of the safest in Durban. The botanical garden is within walking distance.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank birdieLondon_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

What a wonderful place, people and a overall fantastic experience. Relaxed vibe but quality / no expense spared finishes. Food is great and the staff / people are just real, comfortable and make me want to back again and again! I want to tell everyone about it but at the same time keep it as my best kept secret. - Thanks for a wonderfully unique offering!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShayneKlopfer242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed two separate nights at The Concierge and in two separate rooms. Loved the decor and funky layout of the rooms, definitely not the typical African style which was nice to see. I think the best shower I've had in all of Africa, and definitely great bath too. Can be a little noisy though, can hear when other guests come & go. Overall very pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Peta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were fortunate to stay at the 'Concierge' for 4 nights last week. I can agree with most everyone who has frequented their boutique hotel and give them a ringing endorsement. It starts with the greeting you receive from staff. The customer service that is offered is next to none. When have you been addressed by name when you arrive at a hotel? That is the first positive you receive upon arrival. The rooms have character and have most conveniences needed. The morning starts with a wonderful breakfast in the Freedom Cafe. The location is a bit removed from the hustle of Durban, but you won't be unhappy at where you have landed. There are a number of great restaurants in walking distance from the Concierge. Rates are around $100 for a double room with breakfast. Again, I highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norddeutschland
Level 6 Contributor
807 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Location: Not in the center of Durban but pretty close to the M4, the stadium and the nice restaurants around. Actually you can walk down to the botanical garden and walk to some nice restaurants.

Staff: Very friendly and helpful, everything we asked for was promptly done.

Food: A very generous and well tasting breakfast, if you go for the big portions you better come hungry or skip your lunch. Fresh prepared so it might take a while but sitting in the shade of the trees it was also relaxing.

Room: We had 4.2 that had a very nice balcony a large bed a good minibar and a large bathroom. As there was no divider between the shower and the rest of it be careful to do things in the right order. It was clean and hat the needed amenities but here come the two points which brought the review down to 3 stars.
Number one is that the walls are way too thin. If I can hera when the guy next door goes to the loo what can he hear.

And number two, one thing I have so far never seen in a hotel.Often you have a fan in the bathroom that goes on when the light is on, often it runs some time after,.often it does not run... but this is the first time I have ever seen the fan connected to a motion detetctor. So whenever a person goes into the bathroom it starts. No way to avoid this. And of course there is a certain chance that you wake the other person in the room with this. And sorry as per my review policy, bad sleeping quality in a hotel makes 3 stars the max it could get.

The overall design with the dogs was very nice so if you consider the two points metioned above it might make for a good hotel.

One more thing: The nices do not disturb card I have ever seen. Make sure to take a look at it when you are there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,417 reviews
1.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
435 reviews
0.9 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.9 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Concierge Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Concierge Boutique Bungalows

Property: The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Address: 37-43 St Mary's Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#1 Business Hotel in Durban
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Concierge Boutique Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the arty Morningside district Durban, South Africa 5 minutes from the Moses Mabhida Stadium and the Golden Mile Beach Promenade.Kwa Zulu Natal's latest hip restuarant and cafe Freedom Cafe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Concierge Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing