We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful decor but not sure if it's worth the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Concierge Boutique Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor but not sure if it's worth the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Beautiful decor. You can see a lot has been invested in making the rooms look smart, with the shutters, tiles, verandah etc. But in terms of the small stuff, there is room for improvement.
We booked a 2 night stay for 2. THere was only one gown. There werent shower caps, or tea (even though there was coffee, milk and a fully stocked bar fridge, and the notice said with Tea and Coffee), and we didnt get body lotion the next day.
Also, because the rooms are so close to each other, if you have loud neighbours, good luck!

I think for R1 100 per night, attention to detail is key.

But all in all, it was beautfiul and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imanhaffajee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    68
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
113
29
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I really liked the concierge! The food in the freedom cafe is excellent and all of the little touches really added to the design and aesthetics. It's clear the owners have a great eye for detail and our balcony was like a tiny oasis.
The only downsides are the difficulties in keeping out noise from the hallway or the street. In general, not a huge problem. And it was a bit odd that our room didn't have a separate bathroom door, instead the bathroom was divided by a curtain. Keep in mind this somewhat unique set up if you're planning to share your room. One note: you should probably have a GPS to stay here, otherwise it would be really tricky to find. It is, however, close to lots of great restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anhalverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelly Beach, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
181 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Quaint, fabulous & brilliant in three words!
Excellent value 4 money. A qwerky establishment with unsurpassed style and comfort.
The use of space in the rooms is awesome!
Fabulous to lounge on the "stoep" with a glass of champers....
Highly highly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We liked the hotel itself its really nice trendy,unique but did not like the where its situated. Airport to the hotel it was too far and we had to take taxi everywhere. Service was superb! Breakfast was excellent but shame it is hidden Gem! even taxi driver sometime did not know where was the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Booked via hotels.com. We were looking for a smaller property and staying at the beach was not important to us. The property is very nice, food is tasty and the customer service is top notch. Try the pumpkin fritters!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny2299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was the first visit to Durban for my wife and I and we had to decide between an ocean-facing hotel or this one. We opted this hotel for 3 nights due to the favourable reviews and we weren't disappointed. We took an airport shuttle bus from to the hotel (ZAR 70/person, 45 minutes) however the driver wasn't very familiar with the place but he found it eventually. Check-in was smooth and the courtyard facing room was large and cosy. The bed was very comfortable and we loved the rainshower.

The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed eating al fresco in the courtyard area. There was a wedding reception on one night in the courtyard area and if you prefer some peace and quiet then you should opt for rooms with balcony which face away from the courtyard. We were OK with it as things quietened down later in the night - it was after all a wedding celebration hence we understand.

On the last day we had to leave for the airport at 7 am and they were very kind in preparing an earlier than usual breakfast for us. Nice touch.

Overall, a highly enjoyable stay. Highly recommended. Close to most city attractions. About 20 minutes from Gateway shopping complex.

Room Tip: For quieter rooms you may wish to opt for balcony rooms although it faces a small side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gtp-op75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have not stayed anywhere else in Durban nor would I want to. The trendy and unique style of the hotel itself is super fun and creates a modern, comfortable feel. The staff deliver on the stylings and are themselves friendly, hip and beautiful. They and the management know who you are and seem dedicated to adding personal touches to each individual's stay. They'll greet you by name, help you plan your day and travels, and go the extra mile on everything.

The Freedom Café, on site but technically its own independent business, is super stellar. The complimentary breakfast is amazing and I can only imagine that their public menu is fun and delicious.

Simply put, one of the best boutique hotels I've stayed anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and likely the same cost; they seem to be filled on an arbitrary basis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.9 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Concierge Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Concierge Boutique Bungalows

Property: The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Address: 37-43 St Mary's Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#1 Business Hotel in Durban
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Concierge Boutique Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the arty Morningside district Durban, South Africa 5 minutes from the Moses Mabhida Stadium and the Golden Mile Beach Promenade.Kwa Zulu Natal's latest hip restuarant and cafe Freedom Cafe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Concierge Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing