We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true refuge!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Concierge Boutique Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true refuge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We loved the apartment, modern, stylishly designed, with all the amentities needed. The patio blew us away with its palm trees, other beautiful plants and a comfortable sofa bed. If was a true pleasure to chill out there in the evening. Breakfasts are de-li-cious, whether it's eggs or ricotta pancakes! Great thanks to wonderful staff for your advice and help. 'Concierge' was a perfect introduction to South Africa :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magdalena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    68
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
113
29
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We loved the Concierge! Fantastic small, friendly boutique hotel with large and luxurious rooms and great cafe. Primrose and Sanele were the most lovely and welcoming staff - we felt like friends after only a few days and were genuinely sad to leave them. Rooms are beautifully designed and fitted out - large and luxurious with lovely comfy beds and lots of nice touches. Breakfast is included - your choice from the great menu at the onsite Freedom Cafe. Beats a hotel buffet any day! And proper coffee :-) The cafe is fantastic - a beautifully designed glass and steel cube opening onto a lovely shady courtyard where we sat for hours under the trees and cute bunting. And the food is great. We went to a few other cafes on nearby (walkable) Florida Road, but kept coming back to Freedom as our favourite place to eat. It's just breakfast and lunch, but is also licensed. If they had done dinner there we might never have left! All up this is a luxurious but quirky and individual place to stay. If we came back to Durban we would not think twice about staying anywhere else.
Small feedback for the owners - the staff seemed to have to deal with a lot of technical problems (they were fantastic about it and so accommodating in responding quickly - but maybe it means maintenance could be better). Phone and TV didn't work in the first room (so we were happily and quickly moved to another). Safe had to be fixed in the second room. And in both rooms the bathroom fans are on a sensor so they go on every time you go in the bathroom and take ages to go off, this noise is annoying - especially at night. (Please note these are minor things and didn't detract from our very happy stay - just constructive feedback!)

Room Tip: All the rooms have different layout and decor - some rooms have an outdoor terrace facing onto a lan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

The Concierge Boutique Bungalows is amazing. The staff brings your experience to another level which makes for a better environment. They treat you as a good friend and not just some stranger and help with anything you need. From the overall decor of the hotel being dachshunds dogs they blend it well into the rooms which are very modern and not over bearing. The bungalows are beautifully set up with big beds, big bathroom and new items from the AC unit to a rain shower with all other luxury items you may need. Some rooms have a outside sitting area which is pleasant during good weather.  Placement of the hotel is in a prime area. Its out of the busy area of beaches if thats your style. It's next to Florida Street where there are plenty of restaurants to chose from and if your walking or driving it is next to a main road which will get you right to the beach. It's a 5-7 minute drive to the beach or about a 40 minute walk. Either way you chose walking or driving its nice. The owners of this place did a great job bringing staff, security and environment together that makes for a great stay. Great job. 

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benapie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

You certainly need a GPS to find it, but its a hidden gem!

Absolutely loved the room the styling of which was immaculate, with nice big shower and a bath you don't want to get out of.

Guess where I'll be staying on the next visit to Durban?

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trupisero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne & Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Like others, I would say that the attached Freedom Cafe is a highlight - and I will get back to that. But first the actual Bungalows. Good size, comfortable, certainly boutique style. I had a room with a small courtyard which was great for chilling. Do they try a bit too hard to be quirky? In my mind, yes. But better that, than the standard chains, and I am 50 so getting more reserved.... It was my first visit to Durban so I cannot compare, but I would certainly stay again. Good place, good location, great staff. The owner, Neil Roake, is clearly a foodie and it shows with the Freedom Cafe I absolutely loved it and even bought multiple copies of one of his cookbooks (great presents). I wish they had a dinner option either at the hotel or nearby as I would have certainly used that rather than the other options in the area. Special thanks to Primrose from the cafe and checkin. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Decide if you want bath or shower. And I like the verandah suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

The Concierge Boutique Bungalows are beautifully designed- comfortable, elegant and trendy. The Freedom Cafe opened for us after we accidentally slept in; the staff are so accommodating. It is close to Florida Road (restaurants, bars, clubs, shops..) and convenient to getting to town. I could spend the whole day under those trees in the Cafe's courtyard! It is so reasonably priced as well. Stay here in Durban if you like small, personal boutique style hotels.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms have terraces; one of which has an open plan bathroom in case you need more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

I'm from Durban originally and stayed one night as part of our honeymoon and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is really very funky and with everything you would need as well. Alot of thought has been put into the design and decor and it is really a very good result.

The room itself was clean and luxurious with some very amusing touches. The staff were friendly and always available (reception is open 24/7). Breakfast was delicious and the Freedom cafe on site is a great little place to eat and chill.

In terms of value for money the hotel is definitely good value

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjdrsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.1 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.9 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Concierge Boutique Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Concierge Boutique Bungalows

Property: The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Address: 37-43 St Mary's Avenue | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durban
#1 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Concierge Boutique Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the arty Morningside district Durban, South Africa 5 minutes from the Moses Mabhida Stadium and the Golden Mile Beach Promenade.Kwa Zulu Natal's latest hip restuarant and cafe Freedom Cafe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Concierge Boutique Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing