We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best kept secret in South Africa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Mile

Golden Mile
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.45*
and up
Durban City Half Day Private Tour
Ranked #5 of 116 things to do in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best kept secret in South Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Durban's beachfront stretches from Ushaka Marine World, a great worldclass attraction past the Moses Mabhida Stadium, along to the Umgeni River with a wide and SAFE promenade, perfect for a run, walk or cycle. Come weekends, Durbanites pour out with their families to roller blade, cycle, skate board run walk or cycle. The promenade stretches for about 5 km! I walk along the beach towards the river a few times a week, early in the morning or in the evening and sometimes I am the only one on the beach. It is safe and gorgeous and food for the soul. The winter weather in Durban is sublime! This is my secret - I shouldn't be sharing it!!!
Don't walk in the backstreets towards Smith Street after dark - whatever city you visit it is prudent to beware which areas you visit, and I have seen worse beggars and druggies in San Francisco and London.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank itchyfeetSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    199
    56
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Golden Mile Promenade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I walk the promenade everyday and the early morning sunrises are fantastic.
Have a look at my website for daily updates of the sunrises from the promenade.

http://prakashbhikha.com

Stop by at The Coffee Guys at the Bell Street Parking lot for your morning fix of caffeine.
During the winter the temperatures are pleasant and the surfs is great for swimming.

The view of the cityscape from the Moyos pier is fantastic especially at sunrise.

The seine Netters are there on most mornings, and the boat and the men pulling the nets makes for an interesting experience, especially when there is fish in the nets.
Else it is great to just go down the beach and photograph them against the city backdrop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PHBphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“"Delightful but be wary"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A friend and I walk along the Golden Mile every Tuesday morning from Suncoast to Ushaka and back. During school holidays it is always very well frequented with walkers, runners, cyclists, skate boarders, roller bladers - you name, they seem to be doing it! In "off-peak" season, it is obviously far quieter and I find that this is generally the time that one needs to be wary. We have, on more than one occasion, been aware of dubious "types" trailing us and generally we have found that it we make it known to them that we are aware of them, they generally back off. We have always noticed quite a strong police presence along the route which is also reassuring. You also need to be aware that, quite often, you will see African ladies washing themselves, sometimes only in panties, under the beach showers but then this is Africa! There are a number of toilet facilities along the route and generally I have found them to be clean and well looked after. Circus Circus along the beachfront is a delightful place to stop for a coffee and meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best week end activity....for free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The golden mile is one of the best places to hang out over week ends. You see all shapes and sizes walking, running, strolling, skateboarding, surfing, bathing, body-boarding, kayaking, snorkeling, cycling, roller blading, Segway-ing...you name it - people are doing it... And not just the young and skinnies!

Even in the winter as Durban arguably has the best winters in the world! All for free (unless you buy a cold drink or ice cream...).

The best part is that many other attractions are within walking distance... Ushaka, Moses Mabhida Stadium, Mini Town, Riksha rides and local crafts (to buy off course).

An awesome day out!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank _Corne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
203 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Just enjoy the stroll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

So many people (including the concierge at my hotel) warned me against walking around the streets of Durban but I enjoyed a wonderful walk with a friend along the Golden Mile. It is the middle of winter and the temperature is 27 degrees with a clear blue sky. The Golden Mile is a delightful stretch beside the beach which is frequented by walkers, cyclists and any amount of other people just enjoying the environment. I am sure there are times and places to be a bit cautious and sensible but a walk along to the stadium and back in the mid to late afternoon on a week day was great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Mile also viewed

 

Been to Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing