We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great City Beach front” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Mile

Golden Mile
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.45*
and up
Durban City Half Day Private Tour
Ranked #5 of 116 things to do in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great City Beach front”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My Fiancé and I took a trip to the Promenade, a 3.5km walkway along the Durban beachfront buzzing with people riding bikes, jogging and just taking a stroll while all the vibrant cultures that makes Durban so different is experienced in the restaurants, streets vendors and performers. This with the blue sea on the one side and the city skyscape on the other. A few years back this area was really dilapidated and unsafe and you can see the city has made heavy efforts to improve the area with massive infrastructure and security investments.

The only low point was that one of the rickshaw riders tried to scam us. Establish your price beforehand.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BFNT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    199
    56
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great revamp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The last time I was in Durban was 10 years ago, and a lot has changed! The beach front is great, although a lot of the old sites are still there. I especially appreciated the sand castle artwork and happily gave the guys a few coins for their stunning work. It was really enjoyable to take a walk along the beach front with a stroller.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Sadien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average Destination”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The beachfront in Durban could certainly be better. They recently upgraded the beachfront for the soccer World Cup, but alas, that is where it has ended. On a Sunday morning you can have a decent walk along the beach front as there are many people and you would feel safe but I would not recommend that you walk the area at night time. I live in Durban.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely beach front”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A very well-kept sea front area, with plenty of bars and eateries, and most in good taste. Watching the waves was impressive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pob-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Indian Ocean hot spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you want to get a feel of the Indian Ocean, the Golden Mile is the place to do it. I wouldn't suggest walking it at night, but from sunrise to sunset the golden mile has lots to offer. You'll find snack spots, places to grab full meals or even just a quick drink. It is well kept and always very clean.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Mile also viewed

 

Been to Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing