We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Mile keeps shining.”
Review of Golden Mile

Golden Mile
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.67*
and up
Durban City Half Day Private Tour
More Info
$47.65*
and up
Durban City Half-Day Tour
More Info
$39.70*
and up
Durban City Tour
Ranked #5 of 122 things to do in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Golden Mile keeps shining.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

On my first trip to Durban I rented a car, this time I made use of public transport or walked from place to place. The latter proved to be my best decision. Experienced the vibe of the Golden Mile to its max (walked around during the day and with my group at night). Swimming pools, sand sculptures, fast food outlets (yes, I over ate again), pedal car rental, amusement rides, sunken gardens, curios, people (although the number of people begging for money was very irritating; at least they were non-threatening). The area is safe and vibey and well worth a leisurely walk.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank brijoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    221
    66
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love Durban”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Living in Durban, I walk the Golden Mile a few time a week. Safe and clean, visitors can walk from uShaka Marine World on one side to Suncoast Casino and on to Moses Mabhida Stadium on this 6km stretch of paved beach walkway. There are a few restaurants and fast food places along the way. Visitors can also rent bicycles and cycle the Mile if they want.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tazzie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagu, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lost its splendour”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Felt insecure - missed the olden days of grand engagement in just strolling along as if you knew everybody!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Proud of Our City”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

It really is a fabulous tourist AND local attraction providing a safe place for Sportsmen and women and families to venture outdoors and along our superb beachfront!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Busy place”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The beachfront is always busy and full of activity. the swimming pools can be very noisy with large numbers of children running around.
The sand artists are great to whatch.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Mile also viewed

 

Been to Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing