We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay at Impala Holiday Flats”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Impala Holiday Flats
Ranked #47 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We checked in at the hotel on the 25th of April 2014. The flats are okay for people who are working on a very tight budget. The flats are cleaned daily and fresh towels provided daily. the ony problem is that there are cocroaches everywhere from the bathroom to the kitchen to the Bedrooms. the bed in the main bedroom is comfy while the rest are just not comfortable at all. We stayed in a 6 sleeper as we were 3 couples. the other turn off is the bathroom where we all have to share 1 bath and toilet. if the owners can try to install a dstv dish it would really be nice. the place is very noisy its not meant for people who are lloking fo peace and quitness. but overall its okay it just neds some work here and there especially the old lifts which need to be changed completely. the cleaning staff is friendly and the security guards also try by all means to make your stay pleasant. The flats are almost close to everything that you need in Durban. We really enjoyed our stay irrespective of a few glitches here and there

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank LebogangWaLovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Impala Holiday Flats, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Thank you for your review.
We are currently upgrading the lifts in the building and will take immediate action on the points in your message to ensure they do not happen again.

Thank you very much and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 25 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

I used to stay over at the Impala Holiday flats when it was still nice and clean. When we arrived just after 9pm on the 25th of October 2013, I was shocked to see prostitutes and drunks sitting at the front door. While waiting in the car with my 4 year old grand daughter for my husband one of the prostitutes started knocking on my window.... I was soooo scared and when we walked inside the foyer, the security was trying to get rid of a drunk man, the smell of dagga was so strong that it made me sick. The music in the games room was so loud, I had to raise my voice to be heard. The pictures on the website are from years ago when I still stayed there. We felt so out of place and unsafe that we had to find alternative accommodation as this place is no longer suitable for families with small children. If dirty places, drunks and prostitutes are your thing then go for it... And forget about getting your money back as they just ignore your e-mails.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank Marinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Impala Holiday Flats, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Hi there

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had a bad experience during your visit. This is the first time we have heard of the matters you mentioned.
We have since upgraded our security and provide 24 hour guards throughout the building, with CCTV. Any matters as mentioned will be reported to the Police and I am sorry if you feel these people acted inappropriately towards you.
The local area is certainly clean and tidy and our staff are instructed to clean it themselves throughout the day.
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My friends & i really had a great time, it was my fourth time visit after 11 years. I found it still the best place to stay and good value for money. The executive rooms on the top floor, though they need a bit of revamping are still the best. We dont have much to complain about except to that the sleeper couches need to be renewd. Denise @ reception was wonderful & for her i'll certainly recommend the stay @ Impala to my friends & Family, keep up the friendlyness Girl we appreciate your hospitality.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the East & west side are the best with a clear seaviwe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Thandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Impala Holiday Flats, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Thank you for the great review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Want a low cost Durban City experience, this is the best place to be. It's one of the most proper low-cost places, together with Durban Sands, to be if you want to haves pleasant stay in Durban.

Good
-close to beaches(South and Addington beaches)
- staff are very friendly and always willing to help
-flat is cleaned and new towels are given daily

Bad
-noisy environment
-located in the busiest street of Durban

Polanski Rate : 6.5
#Polanski rate is out of 10

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank SPolanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Impala Holiday Flats, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Thank you for the great review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Travelled with a schoolgroupof 29 people. Stayed in the executive rooms. Flats were very spacious, well equipped and clean (except that toilet area wasnt when wearrived but this was rectified during clean-up the following day). Cleaners do a good job of tidying units and clean towels are were provided daily. The lifts are slow. Can get noisy during day with other groups (it was spring break) but at night one is able to sleep (except for the noise coming from the surrounding area). Area around the flat unsavoury particularly at night; daytime is fine, very safe inside complex. Great location. Mall across the street and bus route to major attractions less than 100 steps away. one block awat from very safe beachfront. There are visible signs that management tries to maintain the building; very friendly cleaners and maintainance staff (front desk could get some more smiles). All in all, Impala is a good place with great value for money (paid R800 for a 2 bedroomed 6 sleeper; double bed, 2 singles, sleeper coach wasnt too comfortable). Give it a go, they do aim to please their visitors.

Room Tip: Stayed in executive rooms on top floor (11th); great views over the city below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brijoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Impala Holiday Flats, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Thank you for the great review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The place is so near to the beach that it is safe when you are with kids. We were with 12 kids. The staff is so friendly and the ladies doing room services are always carrying a happy smile. Loved that place and will not look for another place to stay.

Room Tip: Any room at Impala is the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Makana544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Impala Holiday Flats, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for the great review.

At Impala Holiday Flats we work hard to ensure you have a great stay.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

David Mgijima and his wife Getrude are coming back for a long stay this time. Keep up the standard you are the best. Friendly staff Mncwaaah 100percent.Car parking was the best that I've ever seen, security was top of the range,we left the car two days and found it untouched, wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SUKOLUHLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Impala Holiday Flats, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Hello,

Thank you very much for the great review.

At Impala Holiday Flats we work hard to ensure you have a great stay.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#35 of 44 in Durban
104 reviews
1 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#23 of 44 in Durban
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.1 mi away
Gooderson Tropicana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impala Holiday Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Holiday Flats

Address: 40 Gillespie Street | South Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impala Holiday Flats offers comfortable self-catering accommodation opposite Durban's beautiful beaches and KwaZulu-Natal: magnet for thrill-seekers in the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Impala Holiday Flats Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing