We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crescent Guesthouse
Ranked #186 of 256 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Although advertised as in Sydenham, this property is on the seedy edge of Berea, right next to the freeway (which makes for easy travelling, but is terribly noisy). Upon arrival, nobody was around to let us into the property. We were shown to our 2-bedroom unit, but one bedroom was locked and nobody knew where the keys were. We also had to pay a R300 cash breakage deposit which we were not advised of before hand.

In general, the staff were unkept, surly and unprofessional. The unit smelled of cigarette smoke, we had to ask for towels (which were old and greying) and only half a roll of toilet paper was supplied for the entire weekend. The walls and curtains were dirty - a mixture of mildew, dirt and squashed mosquitoes (and blood!). The mattresses and pillows were covered with a plastic cover of some sorts - cold, unwelcoming and noisy to sleep on!

The dustbin in the kitchen had no lid and we had to wash all utensils and crockery before using it - quite disgusting.There is no private outside seating area and no barbeque facilities. Definitely not the 3 star "clean and comfortable with an upmarket edge" accommodation it advertises itself to be.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Solospiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked this because of the option to have a separate bedroom for our child to sleep in, which worked out well. However, the guesthouse is also an event center so they were having a party RIGHT nextdoor until late friday night so no one got much sleep. When I asked about adding breakfast to our stay or using the laundry facilities they advertised as available the lady looked at my like I was totally disrupting her day and putting her out...even though I was going to PAY for the extra services. We also had to ask for bath towels, which always smelled mildewed. They also required a key deposit in cash, which was not mentioned in the confirmation email. The bedding did not include a top sheet so we had to use the stained duvet covers, which also smelled of mildew. For the price of this, you can stay at a nice, real B&B a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seraby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mauele2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: O quarto próximo a avenida é um pouco barulhento, evite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlamir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.5 mi away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#2 of 80 in Durban
98 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,486 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#70 of 256 in Durban
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#161 of 256 in Durban
16 reviews
2.2 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
5.3 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Westville
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Guesthouse

Address: 8 Tills Crescent | Sydenham, Durban 4091, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 256 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: $25 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crescent Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Crescent Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing