We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Molecular gastronomy delight”
Review of Fusion

Fusion
Ranked #251 of 600 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Molecular gastronomy delight”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The food we had was not overly ‘molecular’ in its preparation, but we did enjoy beef fillet cooked ‘sous-vide’ in a dishwasher (moist and succulent and pink all the way through), and the restaurants famous ‘drain cleaner pretzels’ lightly poached in sodium hydroxide (deliciously chewy, dark exterior). The highlight of the evening though was the liquid nitrogen icecream. Basically the icecream is created at the table by stirring liquid nitrogen through flavoured cream to produce (supposedly) a very creamy icecream due to the lack of time for ice crystals to form. I had ‘minted red bull’ flavour, which was delicious, although it was not entirely smooth, and had to be eaten with some caution, rolling mouthfuls around your mouth to avoid freezer burn - still, fun and delicious and a great piece of dinner theater.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lukeandleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ashamed this was my first visit!”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

A wise friend suggested Fusion after reading about it in a magazine. We arrived to discover it had been around for alot longer, and I could not believe I had not enjoyed such a tasting experience in Durban. The service was friendly, helpful, personal but respectful. We were the only table for lunch (? Why!?) but still we received 100% from all who served.
The menu was indeed intriguing - other reviewers tasted dishwasher steaks etc. I had the Venison Carpaccio (Kudu); my friend had the Crispy Prawns. Beautifully arranged, and absolutely delicious. For main course, my friend had the Mexican Mole Poblano (had had the dishwasher treatment) and I chose the Fragrant Asian Duck (slow-cooked... with a regular method, I presume), which was astoundingly perfect.
More than that, what a wine list! Carefully thought-out, interesting, & certainly one of the nicest I've seen in KwaZulu-Natal for a long time.
A totally enjoyable experience! Please do eat there!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The wow factor!”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

this is the place to be surprised out of you taste buds. Dishwasher steaks and caustic soda bagels! Terrific! You will be blown away!

Helpful?
1 Thank GlenwoodDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Great team working really hard to be creative in everything they make. Interesting wine list which is updated often, along with a knowledgable host, Dylan, who is happy & competent to advise no matter what you like drinking. Love the place & will go back again & again.

Helpful?
Thank Rowena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“intimate, chilled, brilliant cocktails, awesome food, lekker staff”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The thing about Fusion is the great combo of friendly staff (they do tricks with liquid nitro), the very charming chef/owner Shaun and the cooooool experimental food. You have to try the Dishwasher fillet (yup, cooked in the dishwasher), liquid nitro ice-cream (don't put your fingers on the bowl) and the yummy tapas (although I wish the portions were bigger). And Tuesdays are half price on the outstanding cocktails. And Shaun runs the cooking school....so you can learn how to cook like a pro too.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calli1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fusion also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing