We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay”
Review of Road Lodge Durban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Road Lodge Durban
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed December 8, 2013

On 3 December we checked in to the Lodge for a few days, the staff were very friendly and helpful on check in.The room was clean and tidy and so was the lodge. the breakfast was also very nice and the hot beverage machine had a small variety of drinks at a fair price, there were also vending machines with drinks and snacks. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Lodge and had no complaints at all

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 39 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is the budget lodge and is part of the City Lodge Group. The rooms are around $50 per night. Clean and functional, a little noisy, but not unbearable, it is after all on a busy main road. Breakfasts are nothing fancy, if you want fresh fruit, toast, preserves, cereal, and scrambled eggs with sausage thats what is on offer. It costs extra for breakfast. However, there is a Macdonald just a few metres away so you have a choice. Taxis park right outside the lodge and are very reasonable to use to get around to the beach of business meetings.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms from 1 - 6 if you can get those, it is a bit quieter, but if not, the noise is doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThornteeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The room facilities are average, but don't bother asking reception for anything! On enquiry about what we could do during the day I asked about the botanical gardens and was told there were none, however the Durban Botanical Gardens are 3.5km down the road. If you ever want to get anywhere, it would probably be easier and quicker to walk. The receptionist on duty, Zanele, took over an hour to book us a taxi and gave us completely the wrong price so we had to find an ATM in the middle of the night in a town we don't know at all to pay the taxi.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sentientchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments - our staff should be more helpful., we will look into this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have stayed here often. Seems the last time they paid any attention to the maintenance was just before my first visit, oh, eight years ago.

No longer cheap, clean and convenient - now it's just cheap.

Unless, of course, you ask the hotel to do your laundry. That's ridiculously expensive. Plus: I gave them four items, and they lost two.

The corporate greenwashing is mindblowing too - the old 'please hang your towels up if you want to help us save water; we won't want wash them if you do' line. And so I do hang my towels up, and of course they do remove them every day and wash them nevertheless.

And so on, and so on.

Give this one a very, very wide berth. Hier is goedkoop inderdaad duurkoop.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel - we will certainly look into your observations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A great deal for someone just looking for a cheap deal. The Road Lodge is one of the hotels under the City Hotel corporation and I believe is their most basic variety. Chains are not common outside the cities in South Africa and bed & breakfasts are the most common type of lodging. Road Lodge was very basic but just fine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VijayKumawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

A great deal for someone just looking for a home base. The Road Lodge is one of the hotels under the City Hotel corporation and I believe is their most basic variety. Chains are not common outside the cities in South Africa and bed & breakfasts are the most common type of lodging. Road Lodge was very basic but just fine for someone attending the ICC and a pretty incredible value for Durban. If you join the frequent Lodger program that is available on line through City Hotels you can save another 10% for any booking...definitely signing up...we paid about $60/night. Rooms are typically small...like other South African hotels and only permit 2 people per room...rooms have a twin bed capable of sleeping 2 friendly adults and also have a foam chair that opens into a bed if you are not too picky! A shower, bathroom, small TV, and desk complete the sparsely furnished rooms. 15 min of free internet is provided per day with the option to purchase more. Breakfast can be provided in buffet fashion for a reasonable price and we ended up eating there each day. A McDonald's is right next door as the only nearby food option. Secure, free parking is provided and you are a 5 min drive from the beach. Nothing fancy but it was a great price for a city hotel in a helpful location. We needed two rooms for my spouse, 2 teenage children, and self but left with a positive experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HardtoPlease85741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed here in May and it was okay- great value and very close to the ICC so you can actually walk to and from the conference. Bfast okay and service okay.

Room Tip: Avoid a room over the car park- can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
95 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#17 of 43 in Durban
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,481 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parade Hotel
Parade Hotel
#23 of 43 in Durban
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pavillion hotel
Pavillion hotel
#27 of 43 in Durban
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Road Lodge Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Road Lodge Durban

Address: Cnr Braam Fischer and KE Masinga Roads, Durban 4056, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range: $44 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Durban 1*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within walking distance of the International Conference Centre, Tourism Durban offices, the beach and numerous restaurants. A 2 minute drive to Durban’s CBD, and only 25km from King Shaka International Airport, ensures that this hotel is in a very convenient location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Road Lodge Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Durban Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing