We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
9
16
11
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
16
11
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 43 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is the budget lodge and is part of the City Lodge Group. The rooms are around $50 per night. Clean and functional, a little noisy, but not unbearable, it is after all on a busy main road. Breakfasts are nothing fancy, if you want fresh fruit, toast, preserves, cereal, and scrambled eggs with sausage thats what is on offer. It costs extra for breakfast. However, there is a Macdonald just a few metres away so you have a choice. Taxis park right outside the lodge and are very reasonable to use to get around to the beach of business meetings.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms from 1 - 6 if you can get those, it is a bit quieter, but if not, the noise is does not keep you awake, so really not that bad.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThornteeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The room facilities are average, but don't bother asking reception for anything! On enquiry about what we could do during the day I asked about the botanical gardens and was told there were none, however the Durban Botanical Gardens are 3.5km down the road. If you ever want to get anywhere, it would probably be easier and quicker to walk. The receptionist on duty, Zanele, took over an hour to book us a taxi and gave us completely the wrong price so we had to find an ATM in the middle of the night in a town we don't know at all to pay the taxi.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sentientchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments - our staff should be more helpful., we will look into this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have stayed here often. Seems the last time they paid any attention to the maintenance was just before my first visit, oh, eight years ago.

No longer cheap, clean and convenient - now it's just cheap.

Unless, of course, you ask the hotel to do your laundry. That's ridiculously expensive. Plus: I gave them four items, and they lost two.

The corporate greenwashing is mindblowing too - the old 'please hang your towels up if you want to help us save water; we won't want wash them if you do' line. And so I do hang my towels up, and of course they do remove them every day and wash them nevertheless.

And so on, and so on.

Give this one a very, very wide berth. Hier is goedkoop inderdaad duurkoop.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel - we will certainly look into your observations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A great deal for someone just looking for a cheap deal. The Road Lodge is one of the hotels under the City Hotel corporation and I believe is their most basic variety. Chains are not common outside the cities in South Africa and bed & breakfasts are the most common type of lodging. Road Lodge was very basic but just fine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank VijayKumawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

A great deal for someone just looking for a home base. The Road Lodge is one of the hotels under the City Hotel corporation and I believe is their most basic variety. Chains are not common outside the cities in South Africa and bed & breakfasts are the most common type of lodging. Road Lodge was very basic but just fine for someone attending the ICC and a pretty incredible value for Durban. If you join the frequent Lodger program that is available on line through City Hotels you can save another 10% for any booking...definitely signing up...we paid about $60/night. Rooms are typically small...like other South African hotels and only permit 2 people per room...rooms have a twin bed capable of sleeping 2 friendly adults and also have a foam chair that opens into a bed if you are not too picky! A shower, bathroom, small TV, and desk complete the sparsely furnished rooms. 15 min of free internet is provided per day with the option to purchase more. Breakfast can be provided in buffet fashion for a reasonable price and we ended up eating there each day. A McDonald's is right next door as the only nearby food option. Secure, free parking is provided and you are a 5 min drive from the beach. Nothing fancy but it was a great price for a city hotel in a helpful location. We needed two rooms for my spouse, 2 teenage children, and self but left with a positive experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HardtoPlease85741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews