We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
9
16
11
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
16
11
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 43 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2012

A great deal for someone just looking for a home base. The Road Lodge is one of the hotels under the City Hotel corporation and I believe is their most basic variety. Chains are not common outside the cities in South Africa and bed & breakfasts are the most common type of lodging. Road Lodge was very basic but just fine for someone attending the ICC and a pretty incredible value for Durban. If you join the frequent Lodger program that is available on line through City Hotels you can save another 10% for any booking...definitely signing up...we paid about $60/night. Rooms are typically small...like other South African hotels and only permit 2 people per room...rooms have a twin bed capable of sleeping 2 friendly adults and also have a foam chair that opens into a bed if you are not too picky! A shower, bathroom, small TV, and desk complete the sparsely furnished rooms. 15 min of free internet is provided per day with the option to purchase more. Breakfast can be provided in buffet fashion for a reasonable price and we ended up eating there each day. A McDonald's is right next door as the only nearby food option. Secure, free parking is provided and you are a 5 min drive from the beach. Nothing fancy but it was a great price for a city hotel in a helpful location. We needed two rooms for my spouse, 2 teenage children, and self but left with a positive experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HardtoPlease85741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed here in May and it was okay- great value and very close to the ICC so you can actually walk to and from the conference. Bfast okay and service okay.

Room Tip: Avoid a room over the car park- can be noisy
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Road lodge is the most basic hotel from this chain, it has a small room with no frills. Everything is clean so for just a night of sleep no problem. If you are looking for a bit more fancy place to stay choose another memeber of the chain like city lodge or garden court. Breakfst was OK, again nothing special. Vending machine was half empty when I was there so I had to go out on the street for a bottle of water.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterEijsbouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We had a Towers Suite so we didn't have the problem with the space nor the glass partition. Great room, very large bathroom and spacious. Small balcony with no chairs outside it was too noisy anyway to sit out there, I will explain, as you can expect South Africa is frantically trying to spruce the place up as like they are imminently going to receive millions of visitors!....I think they need to work a bit faster but I am sure they will pull it off. They'll have to. Roads and pavement areas are being worked on...alot. Not hotels fault but a factor to vistiors nonetheless.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
3  Thank Anju138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

In true Road Lodge style, this hotel was good value for money. The rooms are typically small but the staff is friendly and the accommodations are clean. The location of this hotel is the only downfall. We spent a lot of money on taxis traveling to and from Morningside where we could find restaurants and pubs. There was very little within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank adizokanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews