We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$133
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$86
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$65
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$146
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Benjamin(Durban)
$106
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
9
16
11
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
16
11
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 43 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We had a Towers Suite so we didn't have the problem with the space nor the glass partition. Great room, very large bathroom and spacious. Small balcony with no chairs outside it was too noisy anyway to sit out there, I will explain, as you can expect South Africa is frantically trying to spruce the place up as like they are imminently going to receive millions of visitors!....I think they need to work a bit faster but I am sure they will pull it off. They'll have to. Roads and pavement areas are being worked on...alot. Not hotels fault but a factor to vistiors nonetheless.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
3  Thank Anju138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

In true Road Lodge style, this hotel was good value for money. The rooms are typically small but the staff is friendly and the accommodations are clean. The location of this hotel is the only downfall. We spent a lot of money on taxis traveling to and from Morningside where we could find restaurants and pubs. There was very little within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank adizokanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

I was on a business trip to Durban for 2 days. I tried getting a Town Lodge booking online but it was full - no room. Hence opted for Road Lodge. Was told that this is same family group (City Lodge/TownLodge/Road Lodge). Well, it was a cheap rather cost effective hotel to stay. they charged $47 per night. Facilities were bare minimum - kinda those budget airlines offering cheap air tickets but meals and everything else at a cost! Drinks were @ Rand 6 per tea/coffee and breakfast was not included in tariff. so breakfast @ Rand 47 per head. Rooms are averagely decorated with basic toilet/bath. NO tea/coffe/hot water maker inside! Space is just enough if you are willing to sleep but cant walk around in room. I recommend it good for tight budget traveller who wants safety and just a sound sleep after whole tiring day.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anildel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews