We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Home and Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Africa Regent Guest House
Ranked #35 of 258 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 13, 2010

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night stay at this lovely Guest House. We arrived on a rainy night and were quickly, and warmly greeted by Dave. We stayed in their Penthouse Room, which was spacious and wonderfully appointed. Every morning, we enjoyed Pam's scrumptious English Breakfast and enjoyed discussing sight-seeing options and recommendations with Dave. Both he and Pam are avid travelers, so they new exactly what we were looking for in a day's outing. We highly recommend future travelers to consider staying here...this certainly was one of the highlights of our stay in the Durban area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blwohlert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 82 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2010

David was very helpful with everything from recommending places to visit, booking taxis and providing general advice. The Guest House was close to shops and restaurants. The lounge set aside for guests was very comfortable and there was a well stocked bar operating on an 'honesty' basis.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane190797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Dave and Pam were always helpful. We got great tips (attractions and the Portugese restaurant) and maps, so we could find our way around. The room was beautiful and we felt at home. A fresh cooked breakfast in the morning added to the luxurious feeling!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I stayed in Africa Regent guest house a week during the WC2010. And I spent this time with great pleasure. Pam and David are wonderful people and great hosts. They helped me very much with transfers, day tours and useful advises. Rooms are nicely decorated in African style. They are big and comfortable. The guest house is situated a 5-7 min drive from the Durban Golden Mile. And there are several restaurants and banks within a walking distance. The Place is safe and realy quiet. Grigory. Moscow, Russia.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRIGORY68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We were only there one night, but it was a night well spent. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone passing through Durban or even spending a few days there. The only downside is that it is a bit far out of downtown Durban.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnymex77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Afrika Regent Guesthouse is a place where we would love to return. Being in a good part of town, in a quiet safe neighbourhood with its street cafes, little shopping centre and restaurants, this family house full of little personal details gives you really the feel of being at home. David and Pam will always greet you with a smile, prepare a delicious, rich breakfast and give you all the tips&tricks and information about Durban and KwaZulu-Natal. In this place EVERYTHING worked. The hosts were very helpful and accomodated our schedule, made it easy and enjoyable. They also recommended the Portuguese restaurant round the corner , which turned out to be a real treat as well!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lubka-Stephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We spent 5 nights at Africa Regent and had a truly wonderful time. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, the house and rooms are decorated with a lot of thought using many interesting Zulu and African wildlife themed artworks. David and Pam are extremely attentive hosts and provided us with numerous tips and suggestions to enhance our time in Durban. Breakfasts were great with a good choice including a full cooked breakfast.
Excellent - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
4.9 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#76 of 258 in Durban
34 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mythai Guesthouse
Mythai Guesthouse
#41 of 258 in Durban
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Centre Court B&B
Centre Court B&B
#18 of 258 in Durban
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#13 of 258 in Durban
134 reviews
4.1 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#161 of 258 in Durban
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Regent Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Regent Guest House

Address: 24 Regent Place | Durban North, Durban 4051, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: $62 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Africa Regent Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Africa Regent is a distinctly different family run 4 STAR luxury establishment, offering personalised service, impeccable attention to detail, great value for money and a distinctive quality experience. Accommodation & Facilities:Exclusively for our guests is a spacious lounge, breakfast room, patio, and bar complete with TV,pool table and darts The bar opens onto a natural rock swimming pool with cascading waterfall.Adjacent to the pool is the entertainment area for buffets or braai(barbeque).The traditional African décor abounds throughout with each of the six double bedrooms having a en-suite bathroom (bath & shower) and being appointed with air-conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, safe, hair dryer, bath robes, toiletries and hostess tray. Our penthouse, set in a nautical theme,has views of the bay and ocean. Other facilities include free coffee/tea/juice & biscuit station, free secure off road parking, airport transfers,golf club loan, laundry service and free wireless internet connection. Prices include full English breakfast. Major credit cards accepted. Regret no children. Location: Located in the quiet suburb of Durban North by the warm Indian Ocean and conveniently situated between Durban's Golden Mile and Umhlanga Village Resort. An ideal location offering complete relaxation and privacy whilst being just minutes away from the beach, shopping malls, ICC, cinemas,theatres, casino, golf, sports stadiums, sports facilities and tourist attractions. Within walking distance are banks, post office, good restaurants and pharmacy. Fifteen minutes (23 km) from the international airport. Tours & Safaris: We can provide information on tours to suit the individual needs of our guests on request with our tour partners.Day trips or extend your stay to explore more of the culture, heritage and wildlife of KwaZulu Natal. Attractions Nearby: Gateway Shopping & EntertainmentValley of 1000 Hills Suncoast Casino Zulu Cultural Centre uShaka Marine World4 Golf CoursesSharks BoardUmgeni Bird ParkInternational Convention Centre ABSA Rugby Stadium - SharksSibaya Casino & Theatre Pavillion Shopping CentreKingsmaed Cricket GroundDurbanInternational Swimming ArenaDurban' Golden Mile - BeachesUmhlanga Beach World Cup Soccer Stadium Regional Attractions: Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Game Reserve LionPark Drakensberg National Park Crocodile Safari Park Oribi Gorge SnakePark St Lucia Wetlands Park Cheetah Sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Africa Regent Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing