We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guest house by far!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Africa Regent Guest House
Ranked #38 of 267 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I spent my honeymoon here at the African Regent Guesthouse.
The atmosphere was perfect, felt completely comfortable. The view from the Penthouse was spectacular & the African vibe is magnificent.
I intend on spending my 1st year anniversary here.
I really loved everything here.
To the management and all staff a job well done.

Best Regards.
Rishawn & Shiksha Rohan.

God Bless :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful the atmosphere of the entire place is captivating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rishawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORREY, Owner at Africa Regent Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thanks so much for your compliments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to help enhance your special occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 82 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have had our first trip to South Africa and what an amazing and beautiful country it is. Our trip was excellent thanks to our perfect choice of accommodation, the ideal location of the guest house, the superb cooked English breakfasts daily and the assistance and local knowledge of the Proprietors at the Africa Regent David and Pam.
Our room was perfect and we were given our own keys to the building to come and go as we pleased. Thee bar which works on an honesty tab system is superbly stocked,the swimming pool is so inviting and we used the superb sitting room with it,s amazing African decor to hold business meetings.
Don't look anywhere else to say if you are in Durban. The welcoming warm atmosphere is like nothing we have experienced in all of our travels.

Lee

Room Tip: We stayed in the penthouse as we were there for 7 nights and wanted the extra space and the views fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexLee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Comfortable, spacious and very clean rooms. It is a quick taxi ride to the beach and boardwalk area. There is a game room with pool table and honesty bar where we spent most our night just having some fun as we were there only one night traveling with another couple. It's a pleasant and very safe 10 minute walk to the shopping/restaurant area for meals (lunch and dinner). Breakfast is outstanding and the decor is very "African". The highlight for us was talking to Dave and Pam about their world travels. We enjoyed learning about some of the adventurous places they have been to. Check out their map in the office with all the pinned places they have been to. We got some great tips and ideas for next vacations! We would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: We were on the main level which was quiet. The couple we were traveling with were on the bottom lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Excellent holiday, would recommend to friends, good location for sight seeing, enjoyed our breakfast served in a lovely room. We always visit South Africa as its just so beautiful and this B+B has made our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarbisBayHotelGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We loved this B+ B, Dave and Pam are wonderful hosts, our room was spacious in fact everywhere is spacious and furnished to a high standard. A plentiful breakfast was served in a lovely dining room. You will be not be disappointed, enjoy : )

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ernyruff2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed for two nights at the Africa Regent. It was an easy access from King Shaka Airport after our flight from Europe. The friendly and helpful advice of the two Gentlemen now looking after the Africa Regent was an important element in easing us into the South African experience. The location is fabulous. With the car the City Center, the Airport and convenient shopping Centers are all well accessible. Rooms are cosy and very clean, They Pool a relieve after hot days out in town. Would return there anytime and recommend it to everybody,

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We chose the Africa Regent on the basis of the positive reviews and we were not disappointed. This is a very friendly, clean and comfortable guest housel in a convenient location in north Durban. David, the host was most hospitable and met us on arrival to pass on useful local information, including the location of some excellent restaurants which were within safe walking distance. The bedrooms were extremely nicely decorated and very comfortable, with all important air conditioning. We took advantage of the well stocked bar before and after our meal, most enjoyable. Breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choice. Overall, a brilliant guest house which we would definitely stay at again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred201021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
3.6 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#12 of 44 in Durban
462 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sanchia Luxury Guesthouse
Sanchia Luxury Guesthouse
#19 of 267 in Durban
121 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mythai Guesthouse
Mythai Guesthouse
#41 of 267 in Durban
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#13 of 267 in Durban
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
AHA Auberge Hollandaise Guest House
1.5 mi away
Buckleigh Guest House
Buckleigh Guest House
#106 of 267 in Durban
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Regent Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Regent Guest House

Address: 24 Regent Place | Durban North, Durban 4051, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range: $57 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Africa Regent Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Africa Regent is a distinctly different family run 4 STAR luxury establishment, offering personalised service, impeccable attention to detail, great value for money and a distinctive quality experience. Accommodation & Facilities:Exclusively for our guests is a spacious lounge, breakfast room, patio, and bar complete with TV,pool table and darts The bar opens onto a natural rock swimming pool with cascading waterfall.Adjacent to the pool is the entertainment area for buffets or braai(barbeque).The traditional African décor abounds throughout with each of the six double bedrooms having a en-suite bathroom (bath & shower) and being appointed with air-conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite TV, safe, hair dryer, bath robes, toiletries and hostess tray. Our penthouse, set in a nautical theme,has views of the bay and ocean. Other facilities include free coffee/tea/juice & biscuit station, free secure off road parking, airport transfers,golf club loan, laundry service and free wireless internet connection. Prices include full English breakfast. Major credit cards accepted. Regret no children. Location: Located in the quiet suburb of Durban North by the warm Indian Ocean and conveniently situated between Durban's Golden Mile and Umhlanga Village Resort. An ideal location offering complete relaxation and privacy whilst being just minutes away from the beach, shopping malls, ICC, cinemas,theatres, casino, golf, sports stadiums, sports facilities and tourist attractions. Within walking distance are banks, post office, good restaurants and pharmacy. Fifteen minutes (23 km) from the international airport. Tours & Safaris: We can provide information on tours to suit the individual needs of our guests on request with our tour partners.Day trips or extend your stay to explore more of the culture, heritage and wildlife of KwaZulu Natal. Attractions Nearby: Gateway Shopping & EntertainmentValley of 1000 Hills Suncoast Casino Zulu Cultural Centre uShaka Marine World4 Golf CoursesSharks BoardUmgeni Bird ParkInternational Convention Centre ABSA Rugby Stadium - SharksSibaya Casino & Theatre Pavillion Shopping CentreKingsmaed Cricket GroundDurbanInternational Swimming ArenaDurban' Golden Mile - BeachesUmhlanga Beach World Cup Soccer Stadium Regional Attractions: Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Game Reserve LionPark Drakensberg National Park Crocodile Safari Park Oribi Gorge SnakePark St Lucia Wetlands Park Cheetah Sanctuary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Africa Regent Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing