We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly handled complaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Durban
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Badly handled complaint”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

To me, one of the ways to assess service is how the provider, is how things are handled when things go wrong. From that point of view, the restaurant and the management at the hotel didn’t match up.

But ok, first the good parts. As another reviewer mentioned, it is great to sit on the veranda and look out to the stadium and the across the city. Must be one of the best sites (for sights) in Durban. And, barring the experience described below, the food is ok, if not “wow-worthy”, although be aware that by local standards it is expensive.

So let’s first say that this is a boutique hotel. That should mean personalized service and attention to detail—all of which you are paying for, of course. For a hotel of this standard one would expect properly trained staff.

My experience: we went there a few months back now, for a work function, with a foreign guest. Basically what happened is that the waiter didn’t get the order right. There certainly were some problems in communication. (The details were that that she informed us that the fish of the day was “sole” or “sword”. I like the former, but would never order the latter. So we asked, not once, but a couple of times to confirm that it was indeed “sole”. When the food came, it was quite clear to everyone just by looking that it was not sole. I queried it again, but was told it was “definitely sole”. I didn’t want to make a fuss and spoil the evening for the others, so I let it go.)

So ok, these things happen. But after a day or so I decided to take up the issue with the management of the hotel. They confirmed that the fish that day would have been sword, not sole. They issued an apology, and invited me to dine there again on them. A friend and I duly went the next weekend. Clearly there’d been some misunderstanding, because it was only ONE main course that was free. The rest we had to pay for. (Just to be clear, I wasn’t expecting an entire meal for two on the house, but a single free course wasn’t good enough.) In fact, the “free” meal ended up costing us quite a lot (by Durban standards it is an expensive place to eat). So, for the second time I left with a bad taste in my mouth (pun intended), vowing never to return.

For the prices that Audacia charges (probably not that expensive if you are spending Euros or Pounds, but a lot for locals), you expect a good overall experience. And if something goes wrong, management should make sure that customers’ complaints are resolved to their satisfaction. We never heard from management again—but then again, they’ll never hear from me again! :-) (About a week later we ate at a similarly priced restaurant quite close by. What a difference, particularly in the attitude of the staff. All helpful, and knowledgeable about the food. In fact, afterwards I phoned to compliment them. It was such a pleasant experience: maybe I should write a review for them!)

A postscript: my little “revenge” (if it even merits that word). Shortly afterward, an overseas friend was looking to book in at the hotel, but on my advice decided to go elsewhere. Petty? Perhaps, but that’s what happens when you leave customers unsatisfied.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
11 Thank NautieZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre G, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear NautieZA.

Thank you for your feedback.

Since your visit to the property we have changed ownership and management. We have focused on training of an effective team which holds the values of our management group close to heart.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the property to correct the mistakes of the past.

Kind Regards
Pierre Gertenbach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    32
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
47
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

A Durban Secret.

This very nice hotel is situated in a quiet residential part of Durban just down the hill from the Presidents Durban Palace. We tried the restaurant for lunch after hearing a few quiet whispers about it. The food was indeed extremely good and is definitely well worth a visit. Whilst we did not view the rooms, the ambiance of the premises makes me believe this is a serious contender on my next visit to Durban.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotate100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This Boutique Hotel does not advertise its restaurant.
It is a charming experience sitting on the verandah overlooking the city of Durban and enjoying drinks and a good menu.
Surprised that sofew Durbanites know of its existance--it's a little Gem

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Whilst the exceptionally high standards displayed by this Hotel on our first visit some four years ago have not been maintained, it is still nevertheless a very good Hotel to stay in. The rooms are large and comfortable, the food excellent, and the staff polite, helpful and courteous. Any queries or problems are attended to immediately.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltwo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

What a fantastic place this was.

Just returned from a trip to South Africa and this was by far the best accomodation l stayed in.

Staff were exceptional, the rooms immaculate, the dining experience was superb, the grounds and garden beautiful, the communal areas are lovely with antique furniture.

I truly didnt want to leave and would stop there over and over again.

You will definately be treated like royalty.

Amazing amazing amazing.

Tony Warland

Room Tip: ask for the room with a view over the city... the lights at night were beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This small boutique hotel is hidden gem in Durban. The rooms are tastefully decorated with beautiful antique furniture. The staff are very friendly and polite. If you don’t like busy crowds then this best hotel for peace and quite.

Room Tip: The best room choice is facing the city of durban
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deancraigwolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I have stayed here since it was a 6 room hotel in 2006 and was privately owned and stay at least once a year at Audacia. I have yet to dicover a better hotel ANYWHERE in the world and I do travel all over the world frequently. In one sentence, it feels more like home than any hotel I have ever stayed in! The staff are fabulous, the rooms are sensational and the small, personal feel is what the "chain hotels" would love to (and wouldn't ever be able to replicate) have. Very reasonalbe and I cannot recommend it enough. If you're looking for a faceless, impersonal and badly designed 5 star hotel, don't stay here. If you want to feel comfortable and "at home" then do. You will will want to bring your wife/partner here, trust me! Thank you to Meleney, Karen and Vaughan.

Room Tip: For the best view stay in a balcony room, for the huge and romantic rooms, stay in the new section a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,433 reviews
4.2 mi away
Endless Horizons Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.3 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
459 reviews
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel

Property: African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Address: 11 Sir Arthur Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa (Formerly African Pride Audacia Manor)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928, African Pride Audacia Manor is a lavish hotel centrally-located minutes from the ICC, the Golden Mile beachfront and Moses Mabhida Stadium, Kingsmead and Kings Park. All our rooms have balconies that provide 180 degree views of the city and the ocean, while our Coach House offers private courtyards with outside spa baths and outdoor showers. We offer a personalised service to all our esteemed GUESTS, so whether you are in town for business or leisure, our team will ensure a fantastic stay and great memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing