We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olwandle Suite Hotel
Ranked #159 of 262 Durban B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I really enjoyed my one week stay at this location. I was shocked and somewhat in disbelief that there was a strongly negative review from 2009 because my experience was fantastic. Iwas personally driven by the owner and his daughter for a competitive price (We called a taxi and he agreed to drive us for R50 less). The room I stayed in was a family room with a full sized bed and a small room with two twin beds. Our room was cleaned so well that we jokingly said we felt that we'd been robbed everyday. The price R 550 ($73) was fantastic and with 4 people sleeping comfortably, this was a STEAL. The location was great--8 minute walk to the beach--and on a beautiful corner adjacent to shopping. The service was great--the staff were friendly and the food service was extremely accommodating. Unlike most places in South Africa where the kitchen closes at 6 or 7pm, food room service was available 24 hours a day. As we were here to do community service and were working long hours, this was a true blessing. The room had free WIFI which is hard to find in the US, let alone when traveling abroad. The continental breakfast was great and the hot breakfast which was included was extremely flexible and was a great way to start the day. The hotel doesn't have a fitness area, but there are 5 floors, so I ran the stairs each morning and did calisthenics in the hallway while watching the sunrise--awesome!

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter which room you choose, they are all fantastic. Center rooms have a hug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Langelihle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

Management was A mazing! They provided a ride for my friends and me each day to go whereever we wanted. Food was deliciouso and the rooms were spacious and clean. I especially liked the 24 hour room service. For it to be in the heart of downtown Durban the prices are really competitive. I'm 2 minutes away from the beach. Its walking distance and I feel very safe. They even have a B&B if you want a more homey feel.

Room Tip: Choose the family room. It was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammeca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I was shocked to read that it has mould. I so believe this is personal this is a lie I saw nothing of this it was perfect as ever. Servise was the best I could not ask for more please people olwandle is one of thr hotels you will be pleased to be their guest.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saphiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

This hotel is abhorrent. I had booked four nights here and arrived late in the evening. When I saw the room, I was shocked. The lock on the door had been changed more than twice; there was evidence of it having been forced; there was mould all over the cupboards with a strong smell of anti-mould chemical in the room; the bath had not been cleaned and had ugly brown marks in it. The staff were worse than indifferent, they were downright unfriendly. This hotel should be closed down. DO NOT STAY HERE NO MATTER WHAT THE PRICE!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Juno101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Renata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
2.2 mi away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#161 of 262 in Durban
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#99 of 262 in Durban
35 reviews
2.9 mi away
An Upper Room
An Upper Room
#5 of 262 in Durban
160 reviews
7.3 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Westville
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olwandle Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olwandle Suite Hotel

Address: 110 Stalwart Simelane Street, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Hotel Class:3 star — Olwandle Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Olwandle Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing