We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent backpackers!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Happy Hippo Accommodation
Ranked #9 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Staff is not friendly and not helpful at all and the rooms on the streetside are really noisy. These were the downsides, here are the upsides: spacious, breezy rooms, great beds, the ensuite doubles were extremely clean and reminded me more of a hotel than a hostel. The whole hostel is enormous: dorms are 4 persons max, huge communal area with loads of tables and couches, a balcony, huge rooftop bar, massive kitchen. It's situated nearby the Marine shopping mall and very nearby the beach where there's lots of activities to do. It is a very nice hostel and for what you get absolutely not expensive! Loved it there!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nellie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 229 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2011

we stayed two nights at happy hippo and the rooms were spacious and clean but a bit noisy at the street side, the shared bathrooms were very clean. it's a big lodge with a huge rooftop bar. the staff at the reception is not that friendly but it's still ok. the kitchen is big and nice and clean. there is a lot of chill-out space with books and games. decent place for a day or two, the location is good, you are close to the aquarium and water park and the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blade29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Great hostel, very clean and comfortable rooms.

We had a double room with en-suite which was as nice as a hotel!

Great kitchen facilities.

Good location for beach and ushaka marine world.

Wifi is fairly pricey and un-reliable...

Staff could be much more helpful about tours and attractions etc.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattcooke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

It seems many people have differing opinions of this place. Someone I know called it “shady” but I did not feel that it was at all shady. The crowd is really a mix of young college students, older tourists, NGO workers on a tight budget, and European travelers. I found the vibe was really great and it was nice to meet and even socialize with other guests at the backpackers. I think we met people from Germany, England, Canada, and Mexico along with other Americans.

The area where HH is situated, right next to Ushaka Marine world is fairly safe, though a girl coming back alone at night ( not a smart move anywhere in SA) was accosted and chased by a man when we were there. This is a rare occurrence. There is a safe for locking up valuables and the door has a buzzer, CCTV camera, and code access. There was no security guard in sight, which was a bit confusing. Still, my buddy and I did not feel unsafe. It’s HIGHLY advisable to take a metered taxi at night or the People Mover rather then walk back to your hostel.

As with most backpackers, Happy Hippo has a fairly open layout of lounge areas and clustered rooms. There is an internet café and a rooftop bar, but no food on the premises as it is self-catering. A kitchen with a fridge is there for you to use and tea and coffee are free ( coffee snobs like me can even use their coffee-maker). Need a quick bite to eat but don’t feel like walking over to Ushaka ? Grab a snack at Engen or a meal at Vic’s Bar, a Portuguese bar and restaurant opposite the backpackers that has insanely good Calamari. Rooms were clean ( Banana Backpackers is just plain DIRTY) with comfortable beds and lockable doors, the bathroom was also clean. The bar upstairs is a nice place to relax, but can be a pain to deal with if you room is underneath as the noise is only slightly contained. All in all, it’s a nice, cheap, and laid back place for the budget traveler. If you are looking for something more upscale and out of the city centre, use Hippo Hide in Berea.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOsmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Nice place and special thanks to Lynette the bar tender! Awesome stay in Durban!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
Thank RikuM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

An OK backpackers but the local manager is quite useless, doesnt care for guests at all & spends most of his time on his mobile phone chatting.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierrePP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2010

Firstly, We do not have a local male manager, so I am not quite sure who you are refering to. If it is me the Owner, I take offence to the comment that I am quite useless; as I built and maintain the building. I am not a manager! We have sufficient staff to help the customers with their needs, If I was on the phone it was probably a business call.
I have looked at your reviews of other backpackers and I suggest that you no longer use this type of facility as none of them are up to your standards!
These type of reviews only serve to harm a business that otherwise receive good reviews. You seem disenchanted with backpacker accommodation and would probably be better served staying at a Hilton or Protea where everything is perfect for five times the price!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

The room itself was nice and clean, but the bed was uncomfortable. The rooms are also set around a communal area, which makes them very noisy. The location is bit dodgy as well. All in all its not bad, but just really, really overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tactix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.6 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 44 in Durban
39 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,529 reviews
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 44 in Durban
97 reviews
1.1 mi away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#2 of 82 in Durban
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Hippo Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hippo Accommodation

Address: 222 Mahatma Gandhi Road | KwaZulu-Natal, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Durban
Price Range: $16 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Hippo Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born from a passion for traveling, the legacy of the Hippo Hide has been passed on to this unique and amazing lodge. Situated approximately 500m from Durban's best beaches and right next to uShaka Marine World, you couldn't ask for a better location. Durban's first purpose built backpackers hostel for the discerning budget traveller, welcomes you to come and enjoy state of the art facilities. These include the amazing roof top party and recreational area, known as "The Globe", FREE WIFI, travel desk with up to date information and the best deals. This is your one stop youth hostel with all your amenities close by. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing