We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation in Hillcrest.”
Review of Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valley Lodge
Ranked #9 of 255 Durban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great accomodation in Hillcrest.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you find any of my review’s helpful then please use the button at the base of my review’s to show they were of help.

We stayed here for 2 nights after flying in from the UK for a month long stay which started at Valley lodge as our friends stayed here for their wedding night with us as they live nearby in assagay so we all stayed here before leaving for Drakensberg. So it certainly tells you something about the quality of the place if the locals stay here on their wedding night.
Its not in an area of durban for international tourists purely because most will be down closer to durban itself. Having said that its in a really nice area and the accomodation really is first class. Unfortunately for us as usual when we visit south africa it always seems to rain and this time was no exception so I have no photos with a blue swimming pool palm trees and blue skies but for sure on a nice day this place will look stunning. The rooms were done out really nice every thing you could ask for and the full english breakfast was possibly on a par with the best we have ever had in south africa. Slight downside for us was our two rooms were directly above the office/reception so we were woken both mornings by the staff starting work. Apart from that if you are staying in the Hillcrest area of durban then this place is a must stay place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoyPartington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    42
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
26
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I spent a night at the Valley Lodge in Hillcrest. From the initial call to the time I left, everyone was helpful and pleasant. It is a beautiful place in a lovely tranquil setting. It is easy to forget you are in a suburb. The silence of the night was phenomenal. The apartment was lovely. The decor is modern and user friendly. It is a place I will return to again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milly2931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

From the moment we stepped in to the time we left, the service was impeccable. The staff, wether at the reception, the dining hall, or on the prone for some help, were fantastic, always smiling and ready to help. There is a tranquility about the place and all you can hear is the sound of the wAter and the various waterfalls around the property. The security systems are very good and practical, they make you fell safe without becoming bothersome. Ver highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take something on the side will help you avoid the no ice from the driveway when a vehicle rolls in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed for five nights at the Valley Lodge and it was the ideal setting to visit family and sights nearby. The owners and management looked after us and the service was excellent - the big-smile and warm welcome from Sazi on our arrival was so wonderful and a special thank you to Lucky for being such a gentleman at breakfast and really making it a treat for us every day. The garden and grounds are beautifully maintained and the pool area is well fitted for a relaxing day in the sun... Thanks Valley Lodge!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fedra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 43 in Durban
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.0 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#79 of 255 in Durban
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Lodge

Property: Valley Lodge
Address: 2 Valley Drive Hillcrest, Durban 3610, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Valley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing