We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks that are "rare" to find”
Review of Joops Place

Joops Place
Ranked #19 of 599 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great steaks that are "rare" to find”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

No pun intended, but truly Joops is one of the rare places in Durban that you can locate a great steakhouse. Dont be misled by the quaint, homely settings so unlike the trendy, glitzy restuarants that you may be accustomed so. Joops offers a steak that is gourmet style, absolutely delectable - done with perfection.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sealan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    55
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“No one does steak like joop does”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Hollandse biefstuk - wow! Every time wonderful ! Cost a bit more but worth the difference ! Joop cooks rvery steak himself!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeleben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
155 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have been to Joop's twice in 6 weeks, once as guests of friends and once with our family. All round we were very happy with the steaks we ordered, they were cooked to perfection and were very tasty indeed (this from someone who is not a red meat fan!). One area that Joop's needs to address is desserts - the selection is acceptable, but they are all pre-prepared, so ice cream and hot chocolate sauce (stated on menu) is actually ice cream already dished up with chocolate sauce (cold) directly from the fridge! The pavlova my son ordered was a tiny meringue smothered in a mountain of cream, and the third dessert a type of dom pedro was bitter tasting. Despite this we can still highly recommend Joop's.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank knowthegoodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
173 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“marvellous meat!”
Reviewed February 15, 2011

if you want meat, a big portion, good selection and cooked to perfection, go to Joops. don't bother dressing up, its a snug little place to eat with no pretenses. I enjoy taking my parents here when they're in town.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SassySista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I stopped being a vegitarian for their steak!”
Reviewed February 11, 2011

If you want a nice homely atmosphere and great service always with a smile. Don't like hoity toity snooty places ? Well then this is your answer its so down to earth. And the fact the manager cook?'s all steaks himself is awesome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nataliemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joops Place also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Joops Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing