We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, questionable service.”
Review of Daruma

Daruma
Ranked #38 of 609 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
DURBAN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, questionable service.”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I had a dinner here with someone. Our friends recommended it.
Although the food was very good, the service was slow and inattentive.
It’s very hot at the tables, but seeing your food cooked fresh is a treat.
Fortunately, the person I was with was excellent company, so the 1 hour wait for food was slightly over-looked.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel4hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    65
    30
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blantyre, Blantyre, Malawi
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty Japanese”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I dined at Daruma with my husband on Christmas Day, 2013 whilst traveling in Durban. I was a bit wary of this place as it is attached to the Tsogo Sun Elangeni Hotel and in my experience, restaurants inside hotels are not always great. However, my expectations were greatly surpassed upon arriving at Daruma. The layout of the restaurant is very pleasing to the eye and offers diners the opportunity to sit at either a Teppanaki table with a chef cooking food in front of you or at a regular table. The menu has a large selection of Japanese dishes including various types tempura, yakitori, teppanaki, sushi and udon. My husband and I shared a mixed tempura platter of seafood and vegetables as a starter and had beef fillet and seared tuna teppanaki respectively for our main course. The portions were generous and our beef and fish were cooked according to how we ordered them. Our server was attentive and efficient despite the restaurant being completely full on that evening. The meal was not budget-friendly but not exorbitantly-priced either.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary_Kassam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“teppanyaki”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Went there for christmas eve dinner with some friends for their teppanyaki.
The chefs doing the teppanyaki were very friendly, food preparation were ok. We mostly chose their set teppanyaki menu choices. The taste of the food are catered for the Sth. African tastebuds. The service were excelent, the decor is nice & the seating arrangements were generously spaced. A good selection on their wine list, but we mostly drank warm sake. Worth the trip, if going with a group of friends.

Helpful?
Thank Kwan T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A little more authentic would be nice!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had date night recently, so off to Daruma we went. As a general sushi, noodle and stir fry Restuarant the food was very nice. But we were hoping for something more authentic that explored real Japanese cuisine. On this front we were dissapointed. However the service, ambience and food was very good. We sat at the chef's table which allowed us to watch our food being prepared and cooked right in front of us. It was like watching food theatre! Will definitely keep Daruma on my list of restaurants we will frequent.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Durban, Japan”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The food and service at this restaurant was exceptional. The concept of sitting around the chef and eating was nice and there was some really good cooking on display by the chefs.
The sushi ( not tried) was extremely popular so that itself says a lot about the cuisine. The other thing that I noticed all 3 times that I ate here was that the restaurant was frequent by Japanese families. Nothing can be a stronger review than that.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptAmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daruma also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Daruma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing