We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel despite a bit of noise”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights as our first point of call to South Africa for the World Cup. The hotel is clean, simple yet comfortable and the breakfast is very good. The staff were friendly and particularly because of the World Cup they kept a close vigil on goings on in and around the hotel, which was good. There was some noise due to the location of the hotel on a main road near bars and restaurants but our room at the end of the hall was mostly removed from this. The upside to the location was being able to walk everywhere during the day and to nearby activities at night.

Tip: A lot of people will tell you to eat at Butcher Boys (if you like meat). It's good, but for value I would rather just eat at Spurs. It's hard to find a bad meat restaurant in South Africa.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 236 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed at the Benjamin for two nights for the Durban July horse race. Atlhough it is clean and the breakfast is excellent, the noise from the road is dreadful. We could hear all of the other guests coming and going as the bedroom doors banged all night long.
There were also police sierens going off every few minutes during the night and the traffic noise is non-stop.

This is not the place to stay if you want to get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed here several times over the last month for the world cup. The Benjamin is a nice, petite business hotel with friendly, personal service and we are happy to recommend it.

We experienced three different rooms (12, 15, 17), which all had their own characteristics. Room 17 only had a shower, whereas the other rooms had bath tubs, so 12 and 15 were our favourites, particularly because at times we could hear some pumping noise coming from a pipe next to the room early in the morning. All rooms were nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The water in the shower may take a minute to heat up, but hot running water is generally available. I was not a huge fan of the shampoo & body wash provided, but it does get the job done. The beds and pillows are a bit on the firm side, and offering softer pillows would be a bonus.

The location of the Benjamin is its trump card, right in the middle of the safe Florida Road entertainment district, across from restaurants and bars. Obviously, this also comes with the side effect of having to endure the noise of loud Dutch football fans even when the windows are closed, but after the world cup this shouldn't be a worry.

Service by all employees was at all times very friendly and helpful, free secure parking and Internet was an added bonus. Breakfast was always available, even early on our day of departure, and well prepared. Great service and good bacon! :-)

Overall, we were very happy to stay here and recommend this as a good place to stay in Durban.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webgott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My partner and I were in Durban for the World Cup and chose The Benjamin because of its location. We weren't disappointed; we felt safe at all times and happily walked around the local area at night to try out some of the excellent restaurants. We could also walk to the football stadium in around 20 minutes! The room prices were triple their usual rate, due to the football. This is a huge inflation, but it seemed that all hotels were doing exactly the same thing, so I can't really blame The Benjamin for cashing in too. Our room was quite simple but comfortable. Unfortunately we had no hot water on our first night but this problem was fixed within 12 hours. Breakfast was excellent; freshly cooked and a huge variety of choice. We would stay there again but wouldn't expecect to pay quite as much next time!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatkinsSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Spent 4 nights here and was very pleased with everything, but particularly the warm welcome and good cheer of all the staff. Herman, the Manager, went out of of his way to ensure a good stay.
The hotel has a limited, but ample, range of services and amenities and is well maintained with comfortable rooms. It is well situated in an area which feels safe and has a good range of restaurants.
It offers very good value and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter1naples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

We only stayed for one night but enjoyed our brief stay. Spotlessly clean, friendly and helpful staff, around 10-15 minutes away from the centre of Durban. I've paid so much more for business related hotels, but this is one of the better ones. I'd happily return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluehamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

This is no 5* business or luxury hotel with marble floor but a real cozy and warm one. It is located at Florida Rd with restaurants, mall, money changer and supermarket all within 10 minutes walking distance. Staff members were really friendly and helpful during my stay. If you expect big swimming pool, fancy restaurant or fully-equipped business center, this is not for you. Other than that, I would recommend you to stay at this place. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Durban!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TammyTHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1,528 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#8 of 44 in Durban
247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
453 reviews
0.6 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 141 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $93 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Benjamin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Home away from Home"A warm welcome awaits you at The Benjamin located a 5-minute drive from Durban Beaches and in the heart of the vibrant entertainment strip in Florida Road. The hotel features gardens with an outdoor pool and a shaded terrace. Free parking is available on site.The Benjamin and offers free WI-FI.41 rooms where no two rooms are the same open onto balconies and gardens . The cosy rooms offer airconditioning, tea,coffee making facilities,hairdryers,Satellite TV and work desks in all rooms. Overlooking the garden and pool, Benjamin’s breakfast is served in our open glassed conservatory style restaurant and offers a fresh continental breakfast buffet and plated hot breakfasts. Walk out of the Hotel into the restaurant road of Durban and enjoy your dinners and lunches in some of Durbans famous restaurants.The Moses Mabida Stadium, The Rugby Stadium, Suncoast Casino and Durban ICC are within 5km by car from The Benjamin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel Durban
Benjamin Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing