We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mid range choice in Durban”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel is in Florida road which is Durbans main night life street. This is good in that you can walk to bars and restaurants within 5 minutes . However some rooms may suffer from noise, especially at weekends. We stayed twice- first in a room facing the pool so didnt get any noise, the second time, one with a shared balcony with a door opening to face the main road which would have been noisy with the door open. The hotel is an old wooden house and is stylishly furnished in olde world style. It had a small pool in a courtyard. Both rooms were very clean and a good size with a nice comfy bed but in the 1st one the bathroom was very small. Bizarrely the door opened inwards and it was very difficult to open the door when you were in the bathroom- an outward opening door would have solved this. The staff at the hotel were very friendly, helpful and efficient- they offered advice and arranged taxis for us and let us check out a couple of hours later than standard for an evening flight . Breakfast was served in the restaurant by the pool- full English was freshly cooked and tasty. The hotel is a taxi ride from the sea front and town centre but is ideally placed to enjoy the many bars and restaurants in Florida street. In summary a good midrange choice in Durban.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleMunro, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your review , and your generous comments on our hotel, it is always great to see return guests to the hotel. On your next stay please tell us your favorite room and we will endeavor to allocate it to you. Look forward to seeing you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for The Benjamin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 232 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Fantastic little boutique hotel. I booked this at the last minute off the net and really hit the jackpot. This is quite possibly the best hotel I've ever stayed in!. Outstanding service, very comfortable rooms and an enviable location on Florida rd. many restaurants, bars and clubs nearby. A reasonable stroll to the beach front and generally a very enjoyable area. I can't say enough about the Benjamin. Stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JackDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleMunro, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Wow, Thank you so much for the wonderful review, it really does make us feel good and will definitely pass this onto the staff. Many Many Thanks and hope to see you again if you come to Durbs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here the first few days we were in Durban, really nice helpful staff and comfortable room. close to good restaurants and a quick drive to the beach. Courtesy bar is a nice touch and there was a good choice at breakfast. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleMunro, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments and we are glad that you had a great stay. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Benjamin for 9 days August 28th-Sept 5th 2013, I could not have been happier with the service. The staff were extremely helpful, allowing us to use the office phone to use a long distance phone card I had purchased, Breakfast was a great start to the day. Recommended places to visit, gave us directions, phone for movies playing at theater recommended great restaurants for us to try including Cubano across the street and Havana at Suncoast casino.. Loved the water with the strawberries and mint when I came back each day and that we could have wine or beer on the house was a nice touch. Excellent breakfast, always hot and the staff were always checking to see if more was needed. It was great having a computer to access and put pictures on line from our travels.Coming from Canada it was a great way to begin the trip in South Africa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleMunro, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments, it is always a pleasure to help. We love having overseas visitors in our hotel to show them how lovely our country and people are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very nice hotel situated in Morningside, Florida Road where Durbans party people go out out to have a blast, so it you are a party person and want to be close to the hot party areas The Benjamin will be the perfect hotel for a comfortable stay. Beautiful Hotel, recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleMunro, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Benjamin is an all around great hotel, but it isn't a boutique hotel. The rooms are well-appointed and clean, only wish they had provided an in-room safe. The breakfast, with both hot and cold options is one of the nicest I've had; options included a smoked salmon omelette. The staff are very helpful and pleasant, and the location, right on Florida Road is a safe area with lots of restaurants and nightclubs. The only major complaint is that it is quite noisy. I think the rooms farther away from the road are much quieter, but the hotel was also doing loud maintenance which started at 8am on Friday morning, and made our wake up on Friday less than pleasant.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room far away from Florida road because with the bar scene, it can be quite n...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbuggie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicoleMunro, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We really do appreciate all feedback. You will be pleased to know that the painting of the hotel is complete and the hotel looks lovely so no more maintenance ! I am so sorry that you were woken up so early on the Friday. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Sourth Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived early for our check in and were shown straight to our room. A very attractive,quiet room at the back of the property. We had three nights here and would recommend it as a place to stay. The breakfast menu is huge and delicious. All the staff we dealt with we're very pleasant and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth33_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole M, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments on our hotel. We are so glad that you had a enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. Hope that the rest of your stay in South Africa was great .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,459 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
0.6 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.6 mi away
The St. James on Venice
The St. James on Venice
#12 of 43 in Durban
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 141 Florida Road | Morningside, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#6 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $98 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Benjamin 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Home away from Home"A warm welcome awaits you at The Benjamin located a 5-minute drive from Durban Beaches and in the heart of the vibrant entertainment strip in Florida Road. The hotel features gardens with an outdoor pool and a shaded terrace. Free parking is available on site.The Benjamin and offers free WI-FI.41 rooms where no two rooms are the same open onto balconies and gardens . The cosy rooms offer airconditioning, tea,coffee making facilities,hairdryers,Satellite TV and work desks in all rooms. Overlooking the garden and pool, Benjamin’s breakfast is served in our open glassed conservatory style restaurant and offers a fresh continental breakfast buffet and plated hot breakfasts. Walk out of the Hotel into the restaurant road of Durban and enjoy your dinners and lunches in some of Durbans famous restaurants.The Moses Mabida Stadium, The Rugby Stadium, Suncoast Casino and Durban ICC are within 5km by car from The Benjamin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel Durban
Benjamin Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing