We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic-thanks a million to Belaire Suites”
Review of Belaire Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belaire Suites
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Many thanks from Team GB and NI for your kind hospitality during our stay for The World Transplant Games-we had a fantastic time and your staff were superb-please pass on our thanks to everyone and we would definately come and stay with you again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carololley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 447 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was the very cheapest hotel I could find that is located on that great hotel strip on the Durban beachfront and I was fully expecting a degree of dilapidated seediness considering the age of the hotel. But they had obviously done some improvements over the years so that it had a quasi-modern feel to it. Aside from the age of the rooms showing in areas like the vinyl covering on the floor - I could not fault it. Spacious and clean. And extremely friendly staff. Even the room cleaners seemed to sparkled with bonhomie.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frederick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Belaire for a week. On cheching in we asked for a room with a view and with no problems we got one with an amazing sea view on the 10th floor. The room was quite big, bed very comfortable and clean. The hotel was quite busy because of the World Transplant Games and there were so many people from different countries staying there, but the service was still kept at its best. The buffet breakfast had a good selection of cold and hot food.There was a microwave and fridge which is quite conveniente if you want to warm up a take away meal and to keep your drinks cold.Very friendly staff. The hotel is right in front of the North Beach and a very safe pedestrian beach promenade so you can go for long walks, bycicle riding, jogging, etc. We definetely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on any floor above the 5th floor to get the best view of the sea and amazing sunri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sollymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 4 person apartment but 2 people were cramped up in a corner in a smaller room..location wise good as its on the beach front and lots of cafes are just around,free breakfast is good and the staff is quite helpful..for the price you pay,i think its worth it as you cannot find any place cheaper around that beach area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tharindu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

As other reviewers state, the rooms are clean, big and spacious! The buffet breakfast has a variety to please all kinds of guests! A fine four-star hotel - old but comfortable.

Perhaps it is time to consider free wi-fi as a four star hotel!

The check-in and check-out was not a problem at all - the front desk staff are extremely friendly, helpful and sincere. Dudley and Prescious go the extra mile to keep guests happy.

We stayed on the 9th floor and had a spectacular view of the sea, harbour and promenade!

Entertainment re cinemas, restaurants, live shows, cycling, walking, jogging all available around the hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the better and make sure you have a sea facing room. Noise is limited re the night life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamDeJager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Belaire Suites provides very nice clean rooms and an excellent breakfast. :)
It is located just a few steps of the beach and has a very good restaurant.

The only reason I rated de sleep quality as average is because during my stay (two nights) the first night I had a very nice quietness but the second one my room neighbours were just too noisy. They had the music very loud and were shouting to each other (even after midnight) X(

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARB_o_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have stayed at Belaire several times. The rooms are big and spacious so plenty of space to stretch out. The bathrooms are also big and spacious. The hotel serves excellent buffet breakfasts. I always ask for a room on the upper floors away from the street noise and it does surprise me each time when I check in to find I am only on the third or fourth floor. A question for management: as a regular guest who has stayed several times, and requests a room on the 9th floor and never gets one, how do we do this in future? I have no complaints and think Belaire on the whole is a good Durban beach location. The Jiran coffee shop on the ground floor does excellent coffees too.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liquidgiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
617 reviews
0.9 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.0 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belaire Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belaire Suites

Address: 151 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: $60 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belaire Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belaire Suites offers Luxury Furnished Self Catering Apartments and is located on Durban’s Beachfront between Battery and North Beaches. We are situated right on the beachfront with the majority of our rooms enjoying panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and Golden Beaches. The side facing rooms have side sea views of the north and south respectively. On a clear day Umhlanga Rocks in the north to the Bluff in the South can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belaire Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belaire Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing