We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - Hotel not perfect but has major attributes”
Review of Belaire Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belaire Suites
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Durban
clevedon
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Location - Hotel not perfect but has major attributes”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was my second time of staying at this hotel for a trade fair. Yes there are a few niggling things, like why do the receptionists always sit below the counter and rarely get up and greet you at the same eye level over the counter??

The rooms are large and have the facilities but due to its older design they are a little dark and could do with freshening up as despite it being in the "art deco" style? that doesn't mean it cannot be contemporary in its refurbishment schedules.

The staff overall are very good and the breakfast is very good,

One of the main reasons I stay here is for their restaurant ! - absolutely great - food, service and wine! I had many meetings there in the evening and had plenty of people coming from luxury five star hotels just to eat and socialise here - well worth using if you stay here.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you need to ask for a high floor at the front of the hotel or a corner room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    182
    89
    31
    25
See reviews for
112
125
30
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The rooms were not good and did not feel clean. The food in the restaurant was great and was better than the hotel.
Staff did not make eye contact. chairs at the front desk must go. they don't get up to assist you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laubk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is my second visit to the Belaire Suites and perhaps the room assigned to me was much more agreeable. The last time round I had an interleading door between my room and the one next door and I could hear every squeak, murmur and moan. This time, however, I was more fortunate and I enjoyed my stay. I recommend that a prospective diner should first try the smallish restaurant on the ground floor. Some enjoyable dishes are served there and the coffee is fantastic! Breakfast is as good (to me) as it gets; one is able to stock one's inner reserves for the rest of the day. The view from my room (9th floor) over the sea was magnificent! Some fast food outlets are a short stroll from the hotel but beware the pan-handling; and the approach by these beggars is downright threatening. Still, I found the staff of the hotel very, very friendly and helpful. To be honest, I don't think I need to find another hotel in Durban; this one is just dandy!

Room Tip: Obviously, ask for room on a higher floor to get a good view of the sea and the beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights recently. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was large and well equipped, but not modern and not finished to a high standard. Views over the sea front were...grim. No free wifi, but the cost of hourly access was fairly reasonable. The breakfast was very good. Personally I found the area very questionable. We didn't feel safe walking more than one block from the hotel and took taxi's everywhere. Durban in general was very run down, and the hotel was trying to be the best it could in what is, quite honestly, an unpleasant area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shoegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel is clean, the breakfast very good and the staff helpful. Special thanks to Therry from reception who went out of his way - very helpful and professional! I stayed in 2 different rooms - the 2 bedroom apartment (where I must say the 2nd bedroom has quite small beds and don`t fit 2 adults) and a normal double bedroom apartment which was very nice.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor will give you a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maren-Maus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieu-Bethesda, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel was great and we really felt welcome on arrival. I asked for a room on the top floor which we did get. The only rooms available was the disable rooms which I did not mind as I know they normally have spacious bathrooms. That was however not the case and I do actually not know how they can be graded as disable rooms. Our room had a lovely view and the bed and all the amenities was great. We did however complain that the glass top table's two legs were not right and someone come to look. As we did not need to use it the first night we said it was OK if they fix it the next day. It never happened in the time we stayed there. Some of the amenities were filled up but not all. But all in all the hotel can be recommended. Front desk was very helpful. The breakfasts were great with a huge variety to choose from. Dinners I can also recommend in the restaurant. Close to the beach and the view is great. Safe area to walk in the evening to other restaurants too.

Room Tip: I always choose the highest floor not to hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hester S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Belaire Suites was recommended to me for my Indaba trip for its great location, and reasonable rates. I was pleasantly surprised at the great reception (canapes while you wait), warm friendly staff, rooms that was spacious and nicely decorated. The cherry on top was the Jiran restaurant. While the service was a tad bit slow, the food was delicious, well priced and generous portions. The wine prices were also very fair compared to everything else in town that I experienced. Will certainly stay there again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.9 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belaire Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belaire Suites

Property: Belaire Suites
Address: 151 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#6 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belaire Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belaire Suites offers Luxury Furnished Self Catering Apartments and is located on Durban’s Beachfront between Battery and North Beaches. We are situated right on the beachfront with the majority of our rooms enjoying panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and Golden Beaches. The side facing rooms have side sea views of the north and south respectively. On a clear day Umhlanga Rocks in the north to the Bluff in the South can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Belaire Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belaire Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing