We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the Top 5 in TripAdvisor at Durban”
Review of Belaire Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belaire Suites
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Stay in the Top 5 in TripAdvisor at Durban”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked the Belaire Suites for its being in the Top 10 on TripAdvisor and the guaranteed view of the Indian Ocean. After 20 days in hotels in major cities and game lodges in South Africa, we found this hotel to be the first cost-effective lodging with a picturesque view that was dirty and below average in sleep friendliness. Showers had mold and floors were dirty. The bed mattresses were hard, which we actually like, but with no give whatsoever. The door frames swell in the humidity of the ocean so you have to kick them open; with door kicking going on at all times of night, the restful lapping of the waves heard from your window (even on our 10th floor spot) is not enough to compensate. For those wishing to stay with high marks in cleanliness and décor that you would expect in the US, UK or the rest of SA, you might want to look at the Top 5 on Trip Advisor in Durban. Our friends in another room on the 8th floor never did get a working telephone so we never could make between-room contact and their toilet seat in the bathroom had to be refastened twice. But not all was awful. Our 10th floor room was spacious with a mini-kitchen, the view spectacular, the staff friendly, and the morning breakfast traditional but well done. However, the wait staff at the breakfast buffet need trained in basic restaurant hygiene. We saw them set tables touching the eating end of utensils, putting fingers down into glasses as they brought them to the table clean and replacing dishes that had been on a used table and looked clean back on a shelf to reuse. Reviews of other hotels below the Top 10 in Trip Advisor show some awful spots in beach lodging so, unless the Durban beach hotels clean up their act, we will avoid them as a destination for our next trip to South Africa and stay in-land.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the greatest views and less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    182
    89
    31
    25
See reviews for
112
125
30
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a good and newly renovated hotel in a safe and nice area, walking distance to majoy points of interests. The beaches are just outstanding but they are not as clean as they used to be so something has to be done to clean them up from the rubish everywhere.
Parking is easy and the hotel on the waterfront is easy to find. Rstaurants are around also in safe walking distance, at least to our experience.
Getting up in the morning looking out of the window over the ocean really invetes you for an early morning walk or run ! after you take a shower go to have breakfast, very very nice and fresh with all you can think to have and like.
Enjoy your stay as we did in February 2013

Room Tip: If you are able to book a room as high as possible you get a fantastic view ofer the beach and the I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syicecold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel itself was fine, I think it's an old apartment building made into a hotel. The room was spacious and clean. Though the windows were dirty. We stayed on the 4th floor, on the very right hand side. The location is great, we walked on foot to a casino when it was dark (there are a lot of restaurants, and we went to Cape Town sushi for dinner). The promenade seemed like pretty safe place. No worries about parking. We parked our car in front of the hotel, there were always available places. The breakfast was really good with huge variety of fruits. They even use special candles to frighten off the flies from the counters.
The worst thing about this hotel is that you can hear almost EVERYTHING from the hall and neighbour rooms: how people talk, how somebody is on a toilet or taking a shower. The maids started cleaning rooms at about 7am and they were laughing like crazy and talking so loudly that it was impossible to sleep!!!! We even got up and went to look who was talking so loudly. So if you want to sleep longer and not being disturbed this hotel is not good. Otherwise, it's fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slyotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in a two bedroom apartment for 3 nights in mid-March. The apartment was a little on the small side; no separate living room. On the advice of tripadvisor reviewers, we asked for an apartment on one of the upper floors to avoid the noise, and that worked out well. We had a two bedroom apartments in the corner which had a partial sea view from the main bedroom.; later on we found out that there was a "family apartment" on the same floor which would have been front facing to the sea. The included breakfast was good: sausages, bacon, baked beans etc, and decent coffee. They have a limited amount of enclosed parking in the back (you pay 45 Rand a day for this), but there is a large amount of free parking in the front (on Snell parade) and this is what we used. Like the other hotels, it is across the street (called Snell parade, Tambo road etc on different parts) from the promenade, so the location is good; 5 minutes walk to the beach. The apartment had a fridge, electric kettle, microwave, cups, glasses, but no plates or cutlery. They do provide clean linen, towels etc every day. You have to buy internet vouchers separately, 50 Rand for 50 Megabytes. All in all, these apartments are not luxurious but work well, and for the price (110 USD a night including breakfast for 4), it was a great deal. I would stay here again if coming back to Durban.

Room Tip: Get a front-facing (with a sea view) room on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Visited Belair suites and hotels in Feb 2013 with Family of older childrens. Very good location right
on the promenade with parking facility. Very Safe place always crowded coofe shop Cafe Jiran also famous for Best Coffe award must try.Rooms good and spacious need bit of renovation ,very clean , very good size bathroom, and Microwave , Refrigerator and kettle in the room. Chk in was very slow , excellent breakfast with ample choice of VEG and NON Veg food.The beach is right in front of the hotel and lots of Eaterys at the Promenade and fast food counters.

Room Tip: Insist on Beach facing room as they say it was the only available room at the time of booking and al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The place is excellent and good service is provided. The rooms are spacious, clean and delicious breakfast is served every morning. Well located hotel with the Durban North beach & Sun coast Casino a walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sm85_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good breakfast but very dirty and noisy hotel rooms and common areas.
Management and staff is very unfriendly and not customer centric!! During 12+hrs there was no water in the building and the staff didnt offer help or proposed a compensation. Very disappointing

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurentSBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durban hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#15 of 43 in Durban
598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.9 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belaire Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belaire Suites

Property: Belaire Suites
Address: 151 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#6 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belaire Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belaire Suites offers Luxury Furnished Self Catering Apartments and is located on Durban’s Beachfront between Battery and North Beaches. We are situated right on the beachfront with the majority of our rooms enjoying panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and Golden Beaches. The side facing rooms have side sea views of the north and south respectively. On a clear day Umhlanga Rocks in the north to the Bluff in the South can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Belaire Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belaire Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing