We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but so-so hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belaire Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belaire Suites
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location but so-so hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Me and my fiance spent 2 nights at this hotel in Feb. 2012. We chose the hotel entirely for the location and on that point we were pleased, just a few minutes walk to the beach that had lifeguards and right next to that was a mall with a food court. Just a few minutes drive to Ushaka Marine World which had a nice aquarium in an old shipwreck, worth visiting. A few restaurants around, all of which seemed to belong to hotels. The food at Belaire's restaurant was fine, a bit slow service though. Lots of people walking, jogging along the beach. We used their carpark and had no problems with the car.

The room itself was comfortable but quite boring I would say, no details at all to make it home-friendly. We had a room on the 10th floor, decent view when the windows were open (quite dirty windows), AC, fridge, TV, etc. The service wasn't great at check-in, the receptionist wasn't particularly friendly or knowledgable and it turns out she charged us for 3 night even though we were there for 2, so at check-out we had to wait for ages while they tried to figure out the problem and credit our card. They had forgotten to clean the little room in the back (we stayed in flat with place for 4 people), we didn't need it since we were just 2 people so we didn't complain. Breakfast was ok, lots of choices but nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSarah_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    166
    84
    31
    24
See reviews for
101
117
26
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed 3 nights at Belaire Suites. We had a great time. Before we arrived I had e-mailed and always got a very fast response. The room was large and clean and very attractive. The breakfast every morning was wonderful. It is nice to have a fridge and small kitchen area in the room. The location was great. You can just walk out the door and explore and walk around. In wrapping up we would stay here anytime.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank planningvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran-Iran
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

i stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in early Feb. the location of the hotel is perfect right in front of Indian ocean on a nice street close to Sun Casino and seems to be safe to walk around . it has a nice lobby and nice staff easy check in and all . rooms however stirred a mixed feeling in me . we had 2 rooms one on 6th and ion on 7th floor . the hotel is generally run down , a bit dated but really clean . if you are looking for luxury definately not the right choice but if you are travelling on a budget value for money .
in the room there was no water and you should buy water from hotels coffee shop . i asked for a tothbrush and they said they don't have it . so if you want to go there don't forget to take your tooth brush . another problem that i had was the morning noise from the maids who were cleaning the rooms , they were speaking loudly and shouting to eachother .
one more thing you should condider is the fact that after 5-6 pm all shops around you are closed , so if you need anything make sure you have them before 6 pm.
i had an ok experience but i might choose another place if i go to Durban again .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taraneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Had stayed in the Belaire Suites for a 2 week period in January and was pleasantly suprised twith the level of service offered.

The reception were friendly, and the breakfast chef was helpful and chatyy, which made it welcoming.

Good sized room with microwave oven a d fridge.
Snacks and meals were tasty and plentiful.
Better value than other hotels that i have stayed in whilst in South Africa.

One minor point, the fridge for the beer was not working fully and the beer was not at its best for a couple of days, but glad to say was corrected.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murdothejock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed for two nights on my first ever visit to Durban. The room was very spacious, well fitted and comfortable. The service throughout was friendly and efficient. The buffet breakfast was extremely good and offered a wide variety.

The cafe/restaurant deserves special praise. As I was in transit and had no real chance to discover other places to eat I chose to stay in for both evening meals. I think I would have been hard pressed to find better food and service anywhere else in the city - really very good.

The location by the ocean is great and gives easy access to the rest of the city even on foot.

The only minor faults I found were firstly that the Wifi simply would not work in my room - it was fine in the communal areas on the ground floor which was sufficient for me but this could be a real problem for anybody staying on business. Secondly my second floor room didn't really have the sea view as advertised and the thick anti-glare film on the windows made it seem quite dark on what were admittedly a couple of rather dull days.

Those minor points aside I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anybody

Room Tip: If you want a true sea view you nee to be higher than the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

What a fantastic appartment. Staff cannot do enough for you, nothing is a problem and they certinly go the extra mile. breakfast was good and had a wide variety, both cooked and continental. rooms are extremely spacious and spotlessly clean

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki_84_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great location, the sound of the sea puts one to sleep. Bedroom functional, very clean with nice linen.and comfortable beds.
Bathroom OK and breakfast excellent with great croissants.
Staff very friendly and helpful. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.1 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.3 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pavilion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belaire Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belaire Suites

Property: Belaire Suites
Address: 151 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4056, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durban
#8 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belaire Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belaire Suites offers Luxury Furnished Self Catering Apartments and is located on Durban’s Beachfront between Battery and North Beaches. We are situated right on the beachfront with the majority of our rooms enjoying panoramic views of the Indian Ocean and Golden Beaches. The side facing rooms have side sea views of the north and south respectively. On a clear day Umhlanga Rocks in the north to the Bluff in the South can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Belaire Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belaire Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing