We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stephen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coweys Corner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coweys Corner
Ranked #1 of 6 Berea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jhb
1 review
“Stephen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Richard and his wife were superb hosts. The rooms were clean the breakfast was great. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful and I would recommend the establishment to any prospective guest.

Thanks
Steve

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMasefield, Owner at Coweys Corner, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks Stephan, hope to see you again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    21
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
17
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Enjoyable stay at Coweys Corner Berea. Owners very hospitable. Lovely breakfast. Clean airconditioned rooms and en suite bathroom. Within walking distance from restaurants. Will stay there again******

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMasefield, Owner at Coweys Corner, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words...it really made my day. All the best.
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

coweys corner is a nice bnb,service is good,stuff members are friendly but i feel tthat rooms were not cleaned as often as they should be. i enjoyed my stay there and i will definately visit in future

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mbali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witbank, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

HELLO

What a nice stay I had at Cowey's Corner, it was like home a large kitchen a nice clean dinning room a big airconditioned bedroom with bath and shower , a friendly staff Thando and the others. A delicious breakfast

And thank to Richard and Angel for the care they have shown me next time on my holiday I know where to go COwey's Corner is the best quiet B&B you can stay peacefully

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nonhlanhla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, facility was clean and place was warm welcoming, Had breakfast in the morning but the pork bangers were abit old hence were off and not edible. otherwise we had a great time. thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zama C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMasefield, Owner at Coweys Corner, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the very good rating. I believe the breakfast wasn't quite up to our usual standard. my apologies....all the best. Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The whole experience was excellent and having our dog with us was great. He really felt at home!!!! The only problems were the sash window cords were broken so we had to jam the window open and the electricity behind the bed was a bit dodgy [turning on and off by itself]

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMasefield, Owner at Coweys Corner, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing us when having your home fumigated. Choosing us above other b&b's, when you live in the area, is a compliment. Thanks again. Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards Bay
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was welcomed by Ethel who showed me around. I liked the fact that I could make a well deserved cup of tea in the kitchen and lie back on a king size bed watching my favourite programmes on DSTV. The bathroom in black in white is stunning and I felt very pampered using the lovely toiletries available. Breakfast was good with a good sized omelette, but I did miss my cup of filtered coffee. Instant does not do it for me, though. I left early with a warm fuzzy feeling around the heart knowing that the next time I need to stay over in Durban, I definitely will stay at Coweys Corner.
Arlene Giliomee
Richards Bay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
1.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
2.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.9 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#32 of 41 in Durban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.5 mi away
Goble Palms Guest Lodge & Urban Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coweys Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coweys Corner

Property: Coweys Corner
Address: 42 Robarts Road (off Cowey Road) | Essenwood, Berea, Durban 4000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban > Berea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Berea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coweys Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coweys Corner is a beautifully restored spacious guest house. Ideally situated in Durban’s popular suburb of Berea. All rooms are en-suite with DSTV and wireless internet through-out the house. Full English breakfast included and we are situated close to a number of food and grocery outlets, and our a large kitchen may be used for self catering. You can make an advance request for provision of dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Coweys Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing