We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesomeness”
Review of Coweys Corner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coweys Corner
Ranked #1 of 7 Berea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We really enjoyed ourselves, their hospitality is amazing. everything was in order, clean rooms, great food (breakfast), security is tight, perfect location, centralized, close to everything, 5 min from the beach, 8 from Ushaka. I'm definitely going back next time I'm in Durbz.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMasefield, Owner at Coweys Corner, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your compliments. It really is appreciated, especially after having our first poor review. All the best. Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 84 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Coweys Corner is a lovely little guest house. We use it every year and it is like a home away from home. The rooms are quaint and clean, and the owners are very accommodating. It is nearby Florida Rd and the ICC, and walking distance to various shops down the road.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TashZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMasefield, Owner at Coweys Corner, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to rate us, and of course the 5 out of 5. All the best, hope to see you soon. Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Before I booked I looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor and people raved. I cannot share the view. I found the place to be quite tired. The basin is so small you cannot brush your teeth. The lock on the door is old. There was no additional latch. Luckily I had locked the door on entry- as some man tried to barge in and then complained that there was someone else in the room... The showerhead was very old and tired and the water pressure intermittent. The cushions on the bed were equally tired and the room had a down duvet - in a city with 30 degree Celsius and 100% humidity. The aircon was right above your head...the curtains did not close properly and the honour bar had run out of bottled water. At breakfast the next morning the fruit was exhausted and the table set so that guests could all dine together like a happy family. The coup de grace was the doors flung open to allow all the humidity to permeate the dining area - I could feel my make up dripping off my face and could not wait to get out of there. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DineFrequently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardMasefield, Owner at Coweys Corner, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thanks for this feedback. It came as a surprise you know... reminded me of my first bad date. Actually my first date.
Well, we have tried where possible to improve on where you have found us wanting. Things like the tired pillows on the bed have been replaced, and incidentally the curtains as well...to match. We have added another table so no more happy family. Sorry this should have been done sooner....as for the bottled water supply running empty. Well what can I say.
.
Some points we feel are unfair though. Down Duvets for instance are not only yummy in winter, but cool in summer. We are 2.8 kms from the ICC and City Centre so probably the most convenient B&B for business and holiday travellers alike, but we only scored 3/5 on location?We are also very reasonably priced...so not sure if 2/5 was a typo?
Regards
Coweys Corner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Recently 10 friends stayed at Cowey's as part of a sport trip to Durban. Angela effortlessly managed our booking and arrival. Nicci ensured each morning was kicked off with a scrumptious breakfast and the beautifully restored house with Oregon finishes provided for its own charm. The accommodation was (very) clean, comfortable and well located. With aircon's, fans, en-suite bathrooms to every room, safe parking and a great stoep, you'ii probably not find better value in Durban. Cowey's will definitely be seeing more of us on the next trip down!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and comfortable. Choose between twins or queen bed rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

i have stayed at Coweys Corner on a couple of visits from Manchester in the UK. Nothing is ever too much trouble and every need is catered for - like it should be. Staff are friendly and the owners very helpful in assisting make things easier and stress free. A little African gem in the heart of Durban, I wouldnt dream of staying anywhere else!!!

Room Tip: Ive slept in 3 of the 5 rooms - theyre all very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveFrame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I stayed there for a week-end with my family in August after I chose them by chance from the web. I wasn't expecting too much, but they've really got it right in terms of the balance of style, comfort - not without a touch of quirkiness - and laid-back efficiency. Owners are really there for the guests, but both them and their staff seemed to have this knack of disappearing when we needed privacy, and magically appearing when it was appropriate. Convenient situation and price added to our returning twice during our two-month holiday in S.A. We know where we'll be staying when we return to Durban next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I have stayed at more than 10 B&Bs in Durban in the last couple of years as I have visited for work and holidays, I am from Ireland / UK. I stayed at Cowey's Corner Sept 2011 by chance after a friend recommended it last minute. Cowey's corner is excellent: spotlessly clean, efficient but laid back, well situated. The staff and owner are friendly but not overbearing. We lost our key and they were very gracious about it all. You wont find better for the price they are charging. I've never done a review of a B&B before but because this one doesn't feature in guide books I have, and it is a great find, I thought I'd put this up. Definitely give it a go.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berea
1.4 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,483 reviews
1.2 mi away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 43 in Durban
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
447 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Roosfontein Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coweys Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coweys Corner

Address: 42 Robarts Road, off Cowey Road | Morningside, Berea, Durban 4000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban > Berea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Berea
Price Range: $58 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coweys Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coweys Corner is a beautifully restored spacious guest house. Ideally situated in Durban’s popular suburb of Berea. All rooms are en-suite with DSTV and wireless internet through-out the house. Full English breakfast included and we are situated close to a number of food and grocery outlets, and our a large kitchen may be used for self catering. You can make an advance request for provision of dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Coweys Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing