We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cosy,friendly service but not great for business”
Review of Ocean Hideaway B&B

Ocean Hideaway B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amanzimtoti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Hideaway B&B
Ranked #12 of 26 Amanzimtoti B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night during a business trip. The owner was very welcoming and helpful.
The room itself was a bit on the small size with no view or outside balcony. The room was furnished in a cosy, homely way with lots of trinkets "clutter" which didn't appeal to me at all. I am giving a rating of 3 because I would prefer to stay in a standard room that is simple, like a hotel, for business. If you are looking for a place where you feel you are staying with family this is the place. The breakfast was great for the price paid for the room and once again service was excellent. The ocean view was stunning when you walk to the edge of the property, downside no access to beach from the B and B.
Also not sure if the BnB is really suited for longer stays but overnight should be fine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle T, Owner at Ocean Hideaway B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hi Iloveshoesalot

Thanks so much for your review, I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay here with us as 90% of our business is recurring corporate guests who stay with me regularly for 3 or 4 nights a week.
Our units all have their own theme which we hope adds character to them and our returning guests are able to identify which one they would like to stay in.
We do have access to the beach and most of our leisure guests use it although you have to be really fit to get back up the hill. ;-)
Glad you enjoyed our breakfast though!

Thanks again for your feedback
Regards
Michelle (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Hideaway B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have been here in August 2012 during a roundtrip through SA, with Afrikaya Tours(Wynand Meyer).
This Hideaway was one of our best experiences as a place to recharge the battery and overthink all the experiences we had during the trip.
It is an absolutely great place to be with nice rooms and a family way of service.
The possibility to "Braai" in the open air or inside a shelter surrounded by windows, overlooking the Ocean, is great.
The location on a cliff next to the ocean with the possibility to walk down to the beach or lay down on the deck and oversee it all is of great value.
Tip: Get out of your bed early to see the sun rising over the Ocean...!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Nijboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle T, Owner at Ocean Hideaway B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi Nijboer Family

Thank you for your very kind review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future with Afrikaya Tours!

Best wishes
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I travel from the USA once a year to run dance workshops and visit with my family all over South Africa. After my 1st experience, Ocean Hideaway is always my 1st choice of accommodation in the Durban area. It is simply the perfect place to unwind, recharge and rest. The staff are always around but unobtrusive, well trained, very helpful and friendly. The suites are tastefully furnished with quality and tranquility. The view of the ocean in both directions simply superb and the immaculately kept pool refreshing in a beautiful garden setting. Michelle (the owner) is very welcoming and the reception and kitchen staff make you feel very special. The distance to Durban the capital of Kwa-Zulu Natal is a 30 minute drive on highway. A beautiful state of the art Shopping mall, a large strip mall and the town itself is situated minutes away. I certainly reccomend this establishment to any person.
Zaia Hadiyyah (aka) Sanet Halck
Atlanta GA 30076

Room Tip: Ensure you book well in advance for high season periods. This is a popular place
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaiahadiyyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle T, Owner at Ocean Hideaway B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi Sanet

Thanks so much for your great review! You are always so welcome here with us and we are thrilled that you always enjoy your stay. Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again!
Best Wishes
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had almost 3 weeks here based around our daughter's wedding at a local Game Reserve. From the moment we arrived at Ocean Hideaway in a somewhat dazed state after our flights from the UK we felt at home. Everything about the place was right! Warm friendly welcome, immaculately compiled room decor and furnishings, spotlessly clean, amazing location with magnificent views of the ocean, painstakingly maintained gardens, new clean pool, superbly equipped lapa, excellent braai facilities, friendly staff, and well maintained security. Add to this the thoroughly personal attention from Michelle ( the owner) Alison (her deputy) and the entire staff, and you knew you were in safe hands. This is important when you're a long way from home. If you needed anything, they responded. If you wished to be left in peace, you got it. We saw the other side of S African B&B when we went to Cape Town, and the contrast was stark indeed. To an extent we were spoiled by Ocean Hideaway. Normally you can't putyour faith in the photos and spiel on a website, but in the case of Ocean Hideaway it's even better in real life. Don't take my word - go and see for yourself!! Congratulations to Michelle for running a superb B&B!!

Room Tip: Try self-catering facilities for more space, but all rooms are to a high standard.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle T, Owner at Ocean Hideaway B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi Mike and Family

Thank you for your lovely review, and for being such wonderful guests! Things were ever so quiet when you left.
Hope you see you all again soon!
Best regards
Michelle, Len, Staff & furry children!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stay here a few times a year and it is the best place to stay in Amanzimtoti. Wonderful ocean view from the deck, great lapa and braai facilities. Cosy and stylish decorated rooms, excellent service by Michelle and her staff, not only for breakfast, but always helpful! Just love it, even when not all the rooms are that spacious, but who cares, this is first class location, so we are outside or sleeping anyway...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AfrikayaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle T, Owner at Ocean Hideaway B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi Margreet

Baie Dankie for die lekker worde! We always love having you and Wynand and your guests here. Look forward to seeing you next week.

Liefde xxxxxx
Michelle & Len

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amanzimtoti
3.5 mi away
Island Hotel
Island Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isipingo
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
305 Guest House
305 Guest House
#1 of 26 in Amanzimtoti
372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dolphin Point Bed & Breakfast
Dolphin Point Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 26 in Amanzimtoti
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Sandcastle Guesthouse
The Sandcastle Guesthouse
#17 of 26 in Amanzimtoti
25 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Palma Guest House
El Palma Guest House
#3 of 26 in Amanzimtoti
8 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tuscan View
Tuscan View
#5 of 26 in Amanzimtoti
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Hideaway B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Hideaway B&B

Address: 337 Ipahla Road, Amanzimtoti 4126, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Amanzimtoti
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Amanzimtoti
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Hideaway B&B 4*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing