We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Quality, Service and style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 305 Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
305 Guest House
Ranked #1 of 25 Amanzimtoti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“Top Quality, Service and style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We visited family in Durban recently and stayed at 305on Ipahla; what a treat. Delightful, and friendly staff throughout our stay and every attention to detail you'd expect from a 5star establishment. The view is outstanding and as it was my partners first visit to South Africa, the entire experience was fantastic. One thing that impressed me immensely was the personal service from the owners of 305. Really made us feel welcome and went out of their way to help with local info and to organise a couple of day trips in the area. It's got the feel of a personal guest house, but the service and style of a top hotel that could take it's place anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaDaSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
305unique, Marketing Manager at 305 Guest House, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about 305 Guest House aka 305 on Ipahla. We pride ourselves on our feedback as we believe the only way forward is listening to our guests! Our aim is to make your stay an excellent one so once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again!
Kind regards
Rose Watson
WE ARE NOW UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT!!!
We welcome Sally Gladman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    79
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
74
123
17
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband & I stay at this guesthouse each time we visit Durban! We love it & always enjoy our stay! Always clean...peaceful...friendly service and amazing view of the beach to wake up to every morning! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RukshanaHamied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
305unique, Marketing manager at 305 Guest House, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property.
As a guest of 305 you are very much valued and we really appreciate your comments regarding our service. We work together as a team and we pride ourselves on ensuring everyone who stays at 305 enjoys their stay.
Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again
(Marketing Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I quite nice setting and view, yet the utmost no care attitude, dirty bedding ( given the excuse that its rust marks), broken shower head. Wait 10 m8nutes to be served in the morning and when one politely informs manager of poor service one gets attacked personally.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adriaan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
305ipahla, Director of Sales at 305 Guest House, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your experience with our property. Our guests are our number one priority at 305 on IPahla Guest Boutique and if someone is dissatisfied with their experience, we work very hard to correct this immediately and in a timely fashion in order to turn their experience around. We would like you to have a more rewarding experience at our boutique so if you do decide to come back to Durban please contact myself, Rose Watson and I will be happy to talk with you.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Although the view at this gorgeous guesthouse is nothing short of spectacular, it is not the only thing that impressed me. Loved the decor, loved the food, LOVED the friendly service and really loved the fact that the management are hands on and friendly as well, happy to go out of their way to make my time there as comfortable as possible. Can definitely recommend this guesthouse to anybody looking for accommodation in Amanzimtoti and will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: Go for one of the sea facing rooms, the view is to die for and it is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SenhoraFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
305ipahla, Public Relations Manager at 305 Guest House, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi to you SenhoraFox,

So glad that you had a great experience at 305 Ipahla Guest Boutique. We aim to Give our guests a rewarding and comfortable experience so many thanks for your review. We look forward to your next visit at 305 Ipahla!

Kind regards

Rose Watson (Marketing Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Beautifull BB. Great value for money . I really enjoyed my stay at 305. Room had the most awesome view, great Breakfast that I had on the deck overlooking the Indian Ocean and Good Coffee fully stocked room fridge .Safe Parking .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juls3773305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Admin305, Marketing at 305 Guest House, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thanking you for your review of 305 Guest House. Our aim is to make your stay a pleasant one and we believe that working together as a team ensures this. We work towards excellence and our relationship with our guests is of the same also.
We are now extending 305 Guest House making 8 more sea view rooms, a honeymoon area looking out onto the Indian Ocean and a Golf Driving Range leading out onto the sea!
We value your opinions and once again, thank you for writing such lovely words about our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Housekeeping was very bad,running out of basic things like toilet paper,dirty linen,plugs not working, room not being cleaned at times.The worst was when the plugs suddenly stopped working when I reported the problem the "manager" said she will come and check.We waited until we couldn't wait any longer and she was even avoiding my calls. The plugs only worked for a short while and went off again. This is the worst place I have ever been to.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mantombimaseme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
305ipahla, Director of Sales at 305 Guest House, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review I am sorry you had a bad experience at our Guest Boutique and as a new marketer of 305 Ipahla I aim to ensure that all guests/visitors staying with us will not experience the same as yourself. Since reading your review I have since spoken with the manager and she has ensured that this will never happen again and she offers her sincere apologies. Even though this does not soften the fact that you had such a bad experience, we can reassure our customers and guests that this was a one of matter and can guarantee you that it will not happen again. To show our sincere apology on the matter, please contact myself, Rose Watson, whenever you decide to return to Durban so we can discuss this further and make your next stay an enjoyable one.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed her 1 night in December before flying out from Durban. Location has perfect view over ocean, spacious rooms, everything you need for a good stay. With the rate (~900 rand) it provides really good value!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amanzimtoti
7.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
23.7 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
15.6 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The View Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Sandcastle Guesthouse
The Sandcastle Guesthouse
#15 of 25 in Amanzimtoti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dolphin Point Bed & Breakfast
Dolphin Point Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 25 in Amanzimtoti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 305 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 305 Guest House

Property: 305 Guest House
Address: 305 Ipahla Road | Athlone Park, Amanzimtoti 4126, South Africa (Formerly 305 on Ipahla)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Amanzimtoti
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Amanzimtoti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 305 Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
305 Guest House is an AA & TGSA accredited 4 Star luxury accommodation with unspoilt 180 degree sea views, facing natural forests and the Indian Ocean. Situated in the heart of South Durban, you can while your time away by relaxing on our deck looking out onto the sea & watching dolphins and whales! All our rooms are individually designed with unique colours and natural stone floors. Numerous choices of beverages for you to choose from. Your stay at 305 Guest House includes a variety of fruit, muffins, snacks and freshly made fruit salad & yoghurt at our Buffet Table for your breakfast. Choose either a scrumptious continental breakfast or a variety of other dishes such as an omelette with flourishings of cheese! Our dinners are cooked daily in our kitchen using quality AND quantity as a perk to your stay! PLEASE NOTE: Dinners are ordered at reception and either delivered to your room or served in our dining area. Our prices beat our competitors. We offer a quality service with a friendly atmosphere from all our staff! A Massage and Nail Spa on the premises allows you to be spoilt on your door step by our professional technicians. Gym to work out in whilst facing the Indian Ocean watching ships pass by and whales frolicking in the sea! WE do have an on site coffee shop that is open 7 days a week from 7am to 3pm. WE also do offer 2 x golf driving range nets for our keen golfers. 305 Guest House is one of the most talked about hotels in the area and a short walk to The Galleria Shopping Mall allows you to shop till you drop and see South African Culture. The Tala Game Reserve and the Lion Park is only a drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your 305 Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing