We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lazy sunday visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The View Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The View Boutique Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Durban
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lazy sunday visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was surprised when i got an immediate booking when i called in the morning of sunday for an appointment on that same day, very friendly staff .The Spa situated inside the hotel needs to upgrade themselves and learn new massage techniques, the therapists should train a little bit more and better their massaging methods.
Lunch on the terrace was interesting and the Spa offers a healthy menu. Overall the environment was nice and quiet and peaceful. A very different sunday afternoon.
Staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views and private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    28
    9
    12
    6
See reviews for
26
72
6
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel is in a boring area that literally has nothing nearby! It is better to stay on the North coast of Durban! You have to have a car to get around from this hotel and you are forced to eat at their restaurant as there are no restaurants in the area besides fast food places. The restaurant food is acceptable but not great if you are a foodie or like quality food. The service is friendly but not polished to 5 star at all. There are a lot of stairs at the hotel and no elevator. There is a porter who can carry your bags however. The overall decor is average and the spa was pretty plain in decor too, however, the quality of massage was very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full sea view - our room was supposedly a sea view room but you had to stand i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grayson99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I recently stayed at The View and initially received excellent service, but my check out experience was one filled with disgust. I was first of all accused on breaking a window and when I stated that when I arrived back from the beach the window was broken I was accused of lying. I ask Lee, the person accusing me of breaking the window to review the security tapes of the area adjacent to my room I was informed that the person is busy now and that they will phone me - this was the WORST experience of my entire travelling career. Never before have I been accused of not only lying, but also of malicious damage to property, without the institution verifying their facts. This was made even worse when I was handed my bill stating I removed two still waters from the mini bar (upon arrival I drove to the garage to purchase still water as for there was none in the mini bar) . I have travelled all over the world and never before have received such BAD service from a receptionist and then she had the odacity to state she will have to pay for the broken window. I will NOT recommend this facility to anybody if they are concerned about customer service. The general facilities although are excellent , but for honest and client service - stay away !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cbez-ananzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Fantastic stay at The View all the facilities are excellent and service is first class.The sunrise is certainly worth the early rise.The spa and gym are very well appointed with excellent equipment and treatments great way to start and end the day off.The restaurant and pub serves great food and cocktails within a very relaxing environment. Will be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlRix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at The View whilst on a business trip to the Durban area and highly recommend it, especially for a business traveller.
The location is high on a ridge in a suburb of Amanzimtoti which results in spectacular sea views but is not really suitable for a holiday maker who would like easy access to the beach. Having said that, The View has a beatiful pool deck complete with sun loungers!
My room, 202, was large, had a great bathroom complete with corner spa bath and huge walk in power shower, an extremely comfortable huge four poster bed and a large sliding door which lead to balconey with A VIEW!!
Arriving at The View after a strenuous day and a long drive from Richards Bay I was greated by a very friendly, welcoming and efficient receptionist, my luggage was carried to my room (yes there are some steps) and the air conditioner had thoughtfully been switched on prior to my arrival.
There is good internet access (not free unfortunately) and desk space for those who need to do some work. Complimentary tea, coffee and sherry are provided and there is a mini bar with an adequate selection of drinks and snacks.
I did not have dinner at the on site restaurant but found the breakfast to be excellent with an unusually wide choice of food (try the French toast with bacon and maple syrup - yummy).
I found all staff that I came into contact with to be very friendly and helpful.
My only complaint would be that the toiletries provided are not in individual bottles or sachets but come in quite large dispensers with a "please do not remove" note on the label. I am not comfortable sharing toiletries with previous guests. Not a major problem as I used my own anyway.
I will definitely return to The View on my next trip.

Room Tip: Room 202 - It is large, has a great bathroom, is upstairs with a balconey, wonderful view and I felt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umkomaas, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I had the opportunity of staying at the honeymoon suite of this wonderful establishment. This is one the best places we've ever stayed at. Excellent rooms, with all the bells and whistles one would expect of a 5-star honeymoon suit. Breath-taking sea-views and warm, friendly staff add to an outstanding experience. A true 5-star quality restaurant with a nice menu completed our stay. I would definitely go back!
-Rainer

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

For my wife's birthday this year I booked us in at The View and it turned out to be the best decision that I could have made. Upon arrival we were made to feel welcome and the friendly staff were on hand throughout our stay to pamper and look after us. Our room was beautiful with a massive and comfortable bed (we slept so well in that bed - wish we could have taken it home!) and a balcony with a breathtaking view of the Indian Ocean and the local swimming beach, which was just a short drive away. We enjoyed the deep jacuzzi in the room and spent hours relaxing in the warm bubbly water. Bliss! The dining at Giorgio's restaurant was top class. The service was excellent and professional and my fillet steak was prepared exactly as I like it and my wife loved her fresh fish. The desert was something special! We have dined in many restaurants in South Africa and in Sydney, Auckland and Queenstown (New Zealand) and the quality of this restaurant is as good as you will find at any of these destinations. I am not surprised at all that it is a multi award-winning restaurant. We enjoyed the couples massage treatment at The View's Spa and once again found first class and friendly service to be the norm. The beauticians treated us to such a wonderfully relaxing and revitalising experience and we returned to our room feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. We left The View with only one regret - that we didn't stay for longer! We will definitely be back and I have recommended The View to friends and family and would highly recommend this destination to anyone wanting a 5 Star experience.

Room Tip: I recommend the Honeymoon Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amanzimtoti
4.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
16.1 mi away
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Scottburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
23.9 mi away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
3.3 mi away
305 Guest House
305 Guest House
#1 of 25 in Amanzimtoti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sandcastle Guesthouse
The Sandcastle Guesthouse
#15 of 25 in Amanzimtoti
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: The View Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 9 Hillside Road, Amanzimtoti 4126, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Amanzimtoti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Amanzimtoti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The View Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This has to be one of the most beautiful places in Africa. Wake up in the morning to the breathtaking site of the Sapphire coast. Built by the Lithgow family as a homestead and then converted to a 5 star exclusive boutique hotel. Relax in luxurious rooms with hand carved beds, crisp white linen, private spa baths and balconies, which open out to tropical gardens overlooking two sparkling blue pools. Dine at Giorgio’s, a glamorously decorated restaurant with white tablecloths, wooden floors, chandeliers and a cosy fireplace. Award winning fusion style food with Italian flair is served. Celebrate that special occasion alfresco under the evening stars with views that will take your breath away. The Spa at The View offers the latest holistic wellness packages that reflect the peace and beauty of its surroundings in its decor and interiors. With superb facilities, latest fitness equipment and a team of highly trained therapists, the Spa provides a superior health and beauty wellness experience. A unique fusion of holistic remedies, which include wraps, scrubs, massages, hydrotherapy, steam baths and relaxing vitality pool. This all-inclusive venue offers modern conference facilities for up to 50 people, ideal for business conferences, team building, product launches, small specialised weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The View Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The View Boutique Hotel Amanzimtoti
The View Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing