We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The View Boutique Hotel & Spa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Durban)
$67
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$106
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albany Hotel(Durban)
$75
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Island Hotel(Isipingo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
118
35
10
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
35
10
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsworld classtop classattention to detailbeautiful hotelstaff were excellentsnailsstar experiencefull body massagehidden gemlives up to its namehoneymoon suitecelebrate our anniversarypleasant stayclient servicehousekeeping managerwedding venuereception desk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 181 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Booked my holiday at the view as I haved stayed here previously the service is very poor, the food is terrible and the staff really dont care about the guests this hotel is not a 5 star but actually a 1 star. Will never stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garyy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed here as part of a large group during the world cup 2010.

we thought it was in Durban, but actually its quite a drive outside Durban - not neccesarily the Hotels fault. we had a twin room booked but were only offered a double which was a bit inconvenient for us on this trip.

Staff were friendly and I would say its OK as a place to stay if holidaying in the immediate area. I would give it 3 stars and no more. Rooms are on the smaller side but clean and well serviced. No Idea of the value but we paid a lot of $$$ for high end accommodation via the package and this turned out to be below expectations. However, in fairness to the hotel, I suspect this was probably more to do with the tour operator rather than the hotel as they were very nice and helpful .

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oaklands_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

This hotel has a lot of potential but we had the impression that it was not very well kept.
The rooms are nice but no attention to details.
The breakfast is ok, you can choose from a menu with a few options.
The location is terrible (in the middle of nowhere, no beach) and to be honest the view is not that great.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlGenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

We had an early flight out of Durban so had to come in from the Drakensberg one night early. Heard on the local news about some recent issues in Durban, so was a bit skeptical about staying the night. Andrew at the Anbear Lodge in Drakensberg (see separate review) suggested that we come here. Amanzimtoti is a bit south of Durban and in a great location for the airport (10-15 minutes down N2). We did drive around a bit thinking we may find something closer to the water, but the hotels closer to the water looked a run down (60s chic...) whereas this neighbourhood looked a bit nicer (it's up on the hill with a view of the water, but not near the water).

We stayed in room 402, which is on the parking level (not as many stairs) with a great view out to the water. It looked newly decorated with a modern trough sink, jacouzzi tub and separate shower. It was quite spacious and is really a suite with a small "living" area. They serve dinner there (extra$) and the food was pretty good. Service is not like at a restaurant, but courteous and fine. Other than the 8 Germans at the next table who were sharing their entire conference experience with the dining room, making it difficult for me to hear my husband talk, it was quite fine.

The next morning, we were able to snap a couple of shots of the sunrise from our room. Breakfast started a bit later than they said, but we got out to the airport in time for our flight. Overall, the quality of the room and was excellent, the food was great, the staff really tries, so a good experience overall.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rypeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Stayed for two nights as a base for some business on the Durban South Coast.

location fine and easy to find, but ........

Suffered badly during recent heavy rains, with main access road washed away. They are in the midst of trying to repair the damage AND extend the already hap hazard development - build on severe slope across to stands.

The resuilt is that anyone without the ability to climb Mount Everest will find the steep flights of steps daunting !! - and the only short cut, at the moment, is via the kitchen (2/3 of the way up to the dinning area)

With my wife's artificial knee and arthritis this proved a real problem - why there is no mention of this on the Lodge's Web site is beyond me ??.

Overall the resot is a building site - which may develop into a nice location - however - at the moment it is nowhere near the 4 star rating it claims.

Food wise the breakfast was nothing special and only average cooking - we didn't try Dinner- but was offerred.

Room was clean and well equiped, but adjoining door to another room was very thin with little in the way of sound proofing - so much so that it was a little embarrassing on the last night ,when our neighbour was an energetic lady with a companion - say no more !!.

Would we return ? - not sure - we will wait for some more reviews to be posted and take it from there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W0mbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews